Having Trouble Sleeping?

Do you ever have trouble sleeping?  I was a deep sleeper all my life; fell asleep easily, stayed asleep, woke refreshed. Until about 11 years ago, that is.   Of course when we were blessed with our son my sleep became somewhat erratic, and then when I served as JL president it became even MORE erratic.  Since my abdominal surgeries earlier this school year I have been sleeping very well; my body is still in the healing process and, while I am able to do more and more every day, when I lie down at night I fall asleep quickly and sleep hard.  (Of course when I wake up I wish I still had had a little more sleep, but that’s another story!)

I received a new campaign from BzzAgent (https://www.bzzagent.com/) recently for a new OTC sleep aid called MidNite.  It’s formulated with herbs and is vegan, gluten- and lactose-free.  When you take it you are supposed to wake up alert and not groggy; and it’s even supposed to work if you wake up during the night and can’t get back to sleep; you can take it then and regain a deep and pleasant sleep.

So, I’ll be trying this out over the next few weeks, and I’ll share my experiences with MidNite after I see how it works for me.  My husband gave it a shot last night but I haven’t been able to debrief him yet.  But, in the meantime, here are some tips from WebMD on ways to maximize your sleep.

  • Ban blue light (from tvs and electronic devices) in the bedroom
  • Block the clock (if you can’t see what time it is you won’t be stressed about not being asleep!)
  • Try a leg pillow if you’re experiencing back pain
  • Put your neck in neutral (use a pillow that supports your neck well and isn’t too high or too low)
  • Seal the mattress (use an allergen, dust-proof cover to keep dust and dust mites at bay)

Read all 20 tips for improving your sleep here http://www.webmd.com/sleep-disorders/sleep-benefits-10/slideshow-sleep-tips.  And I’ll be back in a couple of weeks with a review on MidNite…and maybe you’ll be able to add that to your great sleep repertoire!

Enjoy!  —Wren

 

Leave a Reply

