Bees and the Progress of our Garden

Jackson is taking a blogging hiatus today.  He expects to be back next week.  🙂

I am SO happy to report that our garden is progressing beautifully!  The tomatoes are producing flowers and forming darling little (and big) green globes:

Cherry Tomatoes

Cherry Tomatoes

Beefsteak Tomatoes

Beefsteak Tomatoes

The yellow squash seems to be producing a bumper crop!

Yellow Squash

Yellow Squash

And the zucchini is coming along, too….

Baby zucchini

Baby zucchini

All of these are growing and developing courtesy of the beautiful sunshine, the surprisingly abundant afternoon rain showers, and the bees, whom we’re finally seeing more and more of. We think the Russian sage is serving as a strong attractor!

Our Russian sage, finally blooming!

Our Russian sage, finally blooming!

Every day when I go to the window and look out, or when I slip on my gardening sandals and go hover among our plants, I thank God. I’m so thankful for a garden; for the produce that I’m watching grow and develop; for the beautiful weather we’ve been given; for the hope of delicious meals for my family. Nathaniel Hawthorne said it beautifully when he wrote in Mosses from an Old Manse:

“I used to visit and revisit it a dozen times a day, and stand in deep contemplation over my
vegetable progeny with a love that nobody could share or conceive of who had never taken part in
the process of creation. It was one of the most bewitching sights in the world to observe a hill
of beans thrusting aside the soil, or a rose of early peas just peeping forth sufficiently to trace
a line of delicate green.”

I hope you have a garden you can enjoy today!

—Wren

Leave a Reply

