Things We Love: Hostess Chocolate Cupcakes….Reborn

This is not a post about nutritious eating.

Nor is it one about things that are necessary to live a healthy lifestyle.

It is, however, about something that recently made me happy….and continues to, every now and then!

Altho I am not and have never been a Twinkie fan, I was saddened by the closing of the Hostess factories last spring.  It just seemed like a part of my childhood was gone, poof!  Twinkies were selling on eBay for many times their worth (IMO, anyway).  We just watched from the sidelines and didn’t buy anything.

But then, one day….

They're ba--ack!

They’re ba–ack!

Yep, Hostess Cupcakes (or CupCakes as they’re spelled on the box) are being produced again!  Instead of being baked in Texas, they’re now manufactured by Hostess Brands LLC out of Kansas City.

With maybe the cutest tagline ever:  “The sweetest comeback in the history of ever.”

Now—we seek to live a pretty healthy and nutritious life.  Lots of veggies, organic as much as we can, etc…..

But here’s my little secret.  When I was in junior high, we got these occasionally.  I would put them in the freezer overnight, and the next day I had the perfect treat.  The cupcakes never froze hard like a liquid would; instead, they just get very cold and somewhat solid.  But they are SO good that way!

So now, once again, we get these every now and then.  I pop them in the freezer and when I feel like I REALLY would love some chocolate….there they are.

Ready to eat!

Ready to eat!

And, it’s really pretty.

I guess I’m a sucker for nostalgia and a pretty dessert.

Enjoy!  –Wren (I plan to a little later in the day, when my cupcake is frozen!)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

