5 Days of Homeschool Essentials Blog Hop: Exciting Experiments & Fun Science

5 Days HS Ess

Welcome to day 2 of the “5 Days of Homeschooling Essentials” Blog Hop!

My Second Essential:  Exciting Experiments and Fun Science

Are you and your kids science lovers?

Or, are your kids science-lovers and are you just a science-tolerator? Or even a science-hater? If you are, you’re not alone. I have to say that, when I was a child, science was one of my least favorite subjects. It just left me cold, starting in late elementary school. Now, I loved outer space and the planets in our solar system…and dinosaurs. But that was about it. Biology? No, thank you. Physical science? Uh, no.

All of that changed, however, when Murphy and I were blessed with a son…a son who, from the get-go, ADORED science. Magnets? Check. Space? Check. Dinosaurs? Check. Experiments? Check! And then…..we discovered the Periodic Table of the Elements. Oh joy!

I came to understand that, for me, the teacher can make all the difference in whether or not I enjoy a subject. And I also noticed that Jackson’s eyes just lit up whenever it was time for a science experiment. He was relatively interested in reading about science…or listening to a science read-aloud. But when he actually got to PERFORM an experiment? Those provided many of the moments when our homeschool really came alive.  And not only did these experiments provide excitement and interest, they brought scientific concepts, definitions and applications to life.

I think that was my main issue with science during my early school years; it felt like loads of dry information, with very little real-life application or illustration.

So, since I want our studies to bring life to our son, I now actively seek out science that is high on interactivity and experiments. Here are some of our favorite science curricula and activities, thus far:

  • Sonlight (we’ve only used them for grades 2-4, but they consistently have great science books and activities)–both their curricula and their fantastic Discover and Do DVDs
  • Apologia (our new fave), especially their Chemistry and Physics course
Testing the behaviors of different densities

Testing the behaviors of different densities

  • Field trips that include nature and science, wherever we can get them (probably our best-ever science field trip was to the Kennedy Space Center in Florida)
  • 2009_0925_114224AA
  • Homeschool coop courses that touch on science in some way, like Jackson’s class last fall on engineering with Lego
  • And of course, there’s always a plethora of science-y toys out there for children now, that can teach concepts and inform understanding while kids think they’re just playing!

Jan 20 2014 002Not only have these provided complete learning opportunities, but they also, for my son who is a little extrovert, provide one-on-one time with a loving parent, good friends or competent teachers and professionals, engaging in activities he LOVES.

Definitely another of the great rewards of homeschooling….for him AND for me!

Check out some other TOS Crew members’ homeschool essentials here!

Erica @ Be The One

Ellen @ Grace Tells Another Story

Jenn @ Treasuring Life’s Blessings

Christine @ Our Homeschool Reviews

Michelle @ Delightful Learning

Sharon @ Life with the Tribe

Hillary @ Our Homeschool Studio

Brittney @ Mom’s Heart

Heather @ Principled Academy

Or, if you’d like to see the full array of Crew bloggers participating in this Blog Hop, you can click on the banner below.

5 Days of Homeschooling EssentialsEnjoy!  –Wren

8 thoughts on “5 Days of Homeschool Essentials Blog Hop: Exciting Experiments & Fun Science

  1. We enjoy science here, too. Although our oldest is the most enthusiastic about it. 🙂 It sounds like you are doing a great job to nurture the gifts, talents and interests the Lord has given your son. Well done!

  2. I was never interested in science either, but my oldest is a math-science kid. We have focused primarily on nature study in the early years, and I was nervous about that since I”m not an outdoorsy person, but it has been so fun! I also seek out hands-on, interactive activities for all subjects but especially science!

  3. Excellent topic! I read a study about teaching kids science before teaching them to read so that they learn how to think analytically and can understand the world (and what they read when they do learn) better! The kids who did science caught up with their peers but were far ahead in other areas. Of course, the FUN aspect keeps homeschooling a joy! Great job, mom!

    • How fascinating! I can certainly see how that could be true….it sounds a little like what Jackson and I did in our early days of homeschool, with Five in a Row. I loved the little science activities they had with each book.

      Blessings to you, friend!

Leave a Reply

