Favorite Slow Cooker Beef Stew

I’ve loved my Crockpot for YEARS.  When I’d been out of college for a couple of years (after my first job, which involved a lot of travel) and was working, I discovered the joys of slow cooking.  I’m a morning person anyway, so I love putting a meal together in the Crockpot in the morning and letting it cook all day.  By the time it’s ready to serve, my energy has long since peaked and is on the downhill slide….but all I have to do is open the Crockpot and serve!

So you can see why I’m so enamored of my slow cooker!

Tonight we’re having one of my favorite slow-cooked meals.  It’s a spin-off from Finch’s and my mom’s pressure-cooked stew, which we often enjoyed as children.  Unlike many beef stews, which have a brown gravy base, this one is more tomato-y.  It’s very high in fiber because of all the veggies, and you can add to that fiber with some sides listed below.

Jan 20 2014 018Slow-Cooked Beef Stew from finchnwren

Ingredients:

  • 3 large carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 2 cans corn, drained (may substitute frozen corn)
  • 2 cans whole or cut green beans, drained (may sub frozen green beans; I generally use whichever ones I have at home)
  • 1 28-oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 C water
  • 1 1/2 lb. stew meat
  • flour, salt, pepper

Layer first 5 ingredients in large crockpot.  Pour 1/2 C water over veggies.  Then, combine 3 TBSP flour, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper in a large Ziploc and (after sealing) shake to mix.  Then place stew meat into bag, seal bag again and shake to coat meat with flour mixture.  Then pour that into the crockpot on top of the veggies.

You can stir the meat into the veggie mixture but I’ve found that leaving it on the top causes it to cook more slowly and therefore, be more tender at the end.  Which I prefer, not really being a person who enjoys tough, chewy meat!

Cook on low for 6-8 hours.

Serve with whole-grain bread or corn muffins.  Makes great leftovers too!

Enjoy!  –Wren

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

