Leisure Reading (aka magazines)

I know that most of us don’t have a lot of leisure time.

When you do have it, what do you like to do?

I do love to read…but I also like to do my nails, play games with my family and look through cookbooks.

But I also enjoy browsing through magazines.

I can do it with only partial focus (if I need to be available to my sweet family).

I can indulge my girly side.

I can look at the newest styles in hair, clothing and shoes.

I subscribe to some wonderful magazines, but here are some of my faves:

Feb 2014So this evening, after we’d finished homeschooling for the day, I picked up the Ladies Home Journal, pictured on the left.  The lovely woman on the cover is comedian Amy Poehler.

I’m a little embarrassed that I wasn’t quite sure who she was.  (That shows you how disconnected I apparently am to pop culture.  Our viewing life as a family consists of superhero movies, anything Lego, and “America’s Funniest Home Videos.”  Altho I do watch “Downton Abbey” after Jackson is in bed.)  She is a “Saturday Night Live” alumna, star of an NBC hit sitcom, Golden Globes host and even has a web series directed at empowering teens and tweens.

She is ONE funny lady, though.

I have to share my favorite part of LHJ’s Amy Poehler interview with you, the part that made me laugh out loud.  (Altho I must say that I AM personally pursuing an exercise plan now, despite my delight in this quote.)

“My idea of the perfect exercise class is this:  The teacher gives us all a hug and goes, “You did it!  You showed up!  Let’s lie down.”  We all lie down and she’s like, “How is everybody feeling?”  We’re like, “Great!”  And the teacher’s like, “Great!”  Then we all get to leave 20 minutes early.”  (Ladies Home Journal, March 2014, p. 48.)

I (obviously) do love me some magazine time!

Enjoy!  –Wren

Leave a Reply

