TOS Crew Review: Motivated Moms

Are you one of those naturally organized people who can take a glance around your home and see immediately what your next household chore should be?

If you are, I applaud you!

Sadly, I am not that person. There are definitely things I can do well, but organizing and keeping up on chore charts and household routines are often a struggle for me.  And trust me, I have tried a LOT of resources!  I’ve used books, email reminders, notebooks….but nothing has really been just right for me.  And when we added homeschooling to the mix in our family, that just increased the clutter (books everywhere) and minimized the time I had available for cleaning and organizing.  So keeping on top of household chores became more and more overwhelming.

So if you’ve read this far….you can imagine how THRILLED I was to be selected as a TOS Crew reviewer for Motivated Moms’ wonderful iOS app!

What is Motivated Moms?

Motivated Moms is the simplest, clearest, most user-friendly and….dare I say….fun home-organization tool I’ve ever run across.  It is available in iOS App form, Android OS and as an e-book planner.  It is extremely affordable, enjoyable to use, customizable for each family….and, most important for me, it is not burdensome in any way.  It makes home-keeping a pleasure.  And while you are keeping up with your daily task list, habits and routines are built in your family (because you can set this up so that family chores are shared) and your home becomes a beautiful and peaceful place!

Motivated Moms ReviewHow does it work?

I don’t have an iPhone, but my dear husband has an iPad which he generously shares with me and Jackson.  We received a full year’s server access for Motivated Moms’ iOS app.  It was simple and quick to download, and I was able to start using it immediately.

What I found when I opened my new app was that it is simple to read and simple to use.  Even better, it is never overwhelming.

Motivated Moms is not only a home organization tool. It’s really a program that will benefit and bring peace and grace to all areas of your family’s life; cleaning and organization, meal planning, family relational time, and even your own health and well-being. How many chore charts can say that?

The Motivated Moms app gives you a daily to-do list. At the bottom of the screen, you can tap “Daily,” “Today’s,” or the “All” button, which combines the first two segments into one complete list. In the “Daily” list, you’ll find a set of tasks that pop up every single day on your Motivated Moms app. These might be more obvious to well-organized homemakers, but they have been a huge help to me! For example, you will see:

  • Change dishcloth/towel
  • Clean kitchen sink
  • Do laundry
  • Prepare tomorrow’s clothing
  • Wipe out the bathroom sink

…and a number of other tasks you can complete on a daily basis, to bring consistent order and cleanliness to your home.

Then, under “Today’s,” you’ll find a rotating list of home chores that don’t need to be done every day but DO need to be completed. Maybe these are things that might not be as automatically obvious to you, but they are still jobs that need to be done, or they might simply be tasks that will help you feel orderly and at peace. Some of those include tasks like:

  • De-clutter/organize desk
  • Sort children’s clothes–donate or box and save for yard sale
  • Inventory refrigerator contents and plan meals around leftovers
  • Clip children’s nails
  • Pay/file bills
  • Organize master bedroom closet

In other words, you’re going to find almost every task you can think of to keep your home running smoothly AND neatly. Motivated Moms includes tasks for the office, laundry room, kitchen, children’s bedrooms, master bedroom, bathroom, closets, living room, dining room…..basically, if you have a room in your house, Motivated Moms will provide tasks for it!

And if you are like me, you’ll love this part of the to-do lists. There is a small box to the left of each listed task…so that every time you complete a particular task, you tap it and the app puts a check mark in the box. Done!

Today's to-do list, with partial color-coding for each family member

Today’s to-do list, with partial color-coding for each family member

Motivated Moms also has some customizable features that will make this app even more useful for you and your family. Here are some of my favorites:

  • New Task: Is there something you need to be sure is regularly done in your home that you haven’t seen on Motivated Moms? Add this via the Custom Tasks button.
  • Color-coding for People: Will more than one person in your household be using the Motivated Moms to-do list? You can select a color for each person, and then each task that you assign will have a colored bar across the whole task, designating who’s responsible for it. This way you and your children (and your husband, if that works for your family) can take a quick glance each day and see each person’s responsibilities.
  • Organization: This allows you to either have a random list of tasks or you can organize them by person.
  • Hide Tasks: This allows you to hide jobs that you don’t need for your family. For example, we have no pets in our household; so I hid the “Feed pets” task.
  • Checked tasks to bottom: When you click this option on, each time you check off a completed task the app will rotate it to the bottom of today’s list, so that only the outstanding tasks are at the top of the page.
  • Scrolling: On your daily home page, you can arrow to yesterday’s list or tomorrow’s list. Was there something you wanted to get done that you didn’t….or do you want a head’s up for what’s coming for you tomorrow? This feature allows to you look back or explore the future.

You can also scroll through the calendar pages to see when the next time a task appears, by tapping on the arrows at the top of the page or by tapping the calendar option on the lower left.

Motivated Moms also includes some daily and occasional tasks that are important for moms’ self-care. You know what I mean….it’s important, as we serve our families and our communities, that we care for our own health (mental, spiritual and physical) each day, so that we can serve and love from a full tank. Here are some examples of those:

  • Quiet time
  • Exercise
  • Daily Bible reading (Motivated Moms has a schedule that will take you through the entire Bible in one year)

There is even an occasional “Pamper yourself” task!  Since I live in a houseful of guys, I love to be prompted to do something girly.  And another personal favorite is the daily task, “Read to children.”  We generally get this one in during homeschool, but we love to read together before bedtime as well.

And, if there is a regular or occasional task that you need to do but is not on the Motivated Moms list, it is simple to add it yourself!  You can also designate whether it’s a daily or occasional task.

We did receive the iOS app to use and review, but if you’re more of a paper-check-off kind of gal, you can purchase the e-book planner instead.  This is an example of a half-page per day planner:

Motivated Moms Review 

And lastly….our conclusions!

There are many wonderful things about the Motivated Moms app.

It gives me a list of things to do for my home and family, every day; it reminds me of things I know I need to do but might forget (like organize the pantry); it enables me to continue to train my son in life skills and home organization; it gives me a little lift when I check off each item; and best of all, it is enabling us to bring beauty and order to our home!

Perhaps most important, using Motivated Moms enables me to build routines around keeping my home.  After using it for six weeks, I find that there are things I am automatically doing every day without having looked at the app first, like changing the kitchen dishtowels or wiping out the bathroom sinks.  So many of the things I hated doing because they always seemed overwhelming….or things I put off until we had guests coming over….are getting done daily or weekly, and are becoming part of my daily routine, like flossing or brushing my teeth!

Do I get everything done on every single day’s list?  That would be a resounding no.  Some days, (like coop days) I get only a few items checked off and completed.  And yet, that does not discourage me!  I am, conversely, greatly encouraged because each day we are getting things done; each day I’m building new habits (and my family members are, too); and each day, I am creating the atmosphere I want for my home—one of peace and rest.

If you’d like to try it out, you can purchase two months’ worth of the Motivated Moms app for $1.99, with the option to purchase additional months for 99 cents each.  Or, you can purchase an entire year’s subscription of the app for a mere $7.99.  You may purchase the Motivated Moms e-book planner for $8.00, and these are available in a variety of options, including color, b&w, half-page, full page, etc.  Both of these are available via the Motivated Moms website.

Many of my Crew mates also used and reviewed either the app or the e-book planner for Motivated Moms, and you can read about their experiences at the Schoolhouse Review Crew blog!

I can completely, and wholeheartedly, recommend this wonderful home-keeping tool.  Let me know if you decide to try it out yourself….and transform the way you think about and do your house cleaning!

Crew DisclaimerEnjoy!  –Wren

 

Leave a Reply

