5 things: Computer eye health check!

Computers are indispensable; part of our everyday lives, days, nights, at work, on vacation.  I discovered that the more time I spent on my computer (primarily at work) my eyes were becoming achy, dry, strained…and different.

I never needed glasses, but at the ripe age of 42, I discovered I needed them to read small print.

I experienced eyestrain…which turned into Ocular migraines (never having a history of Migraines, ocular or otherwise, this was pretty scary stuff).

I went to the eye doctor and found that other than the issues described above, things were fine.

I think that some of these issues could have been avoided if I had just known a few simple tips.

  1. The 20-20-20 rule: every 20 minutes, blink and gaze into the distance for 20 seconds.
  2. Dim overhead lighting; this reduces glare.
  3. Check brightness and contrast (a screen too light or dark can cause straining).
  4. Increase size of documents to 100%.
  5. Use lubricating eye drops.

I hope these tips help!

Finch

Leave a Reply

