Tuesday, August 26th, 2014….for all Women!

Today is a time to celebrate what our female ancestors accomplished through incredible and unwavering dedication. It is Women’s Equality Day, a day in where we commemorate the granting of the vote to women throughout our nation on an equal basis with men.

Women in the United States were granted the right to vote on August 26, 1920, when the 19th Amendment to the constitution was passed into law.

When I was younger, I didn’t take advantage of my right to vote because I thought it wouldn’t make a difference. Now I understand how important it is to excercise the right to vote. Even though sometimes the things or people I vote don’t come to fruition, at least I know I have a voice…unlike those women before 1920, who had no say in their future, political or otherwise.

Here’s to the suffragettes…!

Finch

Leave a Reply

