Epsom Salts….and my feet

Do your feet ever get tired at the end of the day?

"All-Purpose" Epsom Salt

Multi- Purpose Epsom Salt

Many nights (thankfully, not ALL of them), the bottoms of my feet ache when I get into bed.  Sometimes the ache keeps me awake, when I’d really rather be sleeping!  But the other night, as Jackson, my husband and I were chatting before bed, this idea popped into my  mind:

“Soak your feet in warm water and Epsom salts.”

What a concept!

The epsom salts, an inside view

The epsom salts, an inside view

I didn’t know a whole lot about Epsom salt.  So I researched it, and learned that it’s a chemical compound of magnesium and sulfate.  Apparently with a lot of uses, although I’ve only ever used it externally, in bath or foot soaks.  It can reduce inflammation or muscle cramps; we’ve used it when our son had tight leg muscles after lots of physical activity.

So, after we visited, prayed together and the guys got ready for bed, I collected my supplies and went into the bathroom.  I use whatever Epsom salts brand we find at the store, this time it was Multi-Purpose Epsom Salt.  (Catchy!)  I have a plastic shoebox that works perfectly for soaking my feet.  So, I poured about 3/4 C Epsom salts into the shoebox, followed by hot water from the tap.  I swirled the salts around til they dissolved, put the shoebox on the floor, and sat down.  Then I lowered my feet into the warm, lovely water, opened my book, and began to read.

I think I sat and soaked my feet for about 15 minutes.  I would have enjoyed the water for longer, but I didn’t get the water as hot as I needed to, so when the water cooled substantially I decided I’d had enough.  Then, I dried my feet off, put on warm socks and got into bed.

Did my feet still ache?  Not too much!  The foot soak was apparently extremely helpful.  There was still a bit of discomfort, but not enough to keep me awake.  🙂

**This information is not designed to diagnose or treat any disease.  Please see your personal physician if you are experiencing pain of any kind.

Enjoy!  –Wren

Leave a Reply

