Wren’s Word for 2015: Grace

Word for 2015Today is New Year’s Eve, 2014.

And I’ve been giving the new year a lot of thought.

There are some goals that have been percolating in my mind for my life; for our home, our homeschool, for myself.  I’m kind of excited about these goals and about implementing them.

But above all those thoughts and ideas for 2015, there’s a word that has been resounding in my heart and mind:  grace.

I like that word a lot.  Strong’s Concordance, which gives an exact and amplified definition of every Hebrew and Greek word in the Bible (making it an excellent help for understanding God’s Word), says this in definition #2 of charis, the Greek word for grace:

“Good will, loving-kindness, favour.  Of the merciful kindness by which God,

exerting His holy influence on souls, turns them to Christ,

keeps, strengthens, increases them

in Christian faith, knowledge, affection, and

kindles them to the exercise of the Christian virtues.”

I don’t know about you, but I am in desperate need of the grace that can accomplish all those beautiful things in my life.  I have always been a person who could just put my head down, push through and accomplish whatever I needed to.  That’s not always a bad thing, by the way.  But if it’s adopted as a lifestyle or a fallback pattern, it can be at the least, unhelpful….and at the most, devastating.  For the end result of that mindset can be a person who’s wholly dependent on herself, fully expecting to be able to do all things in her own strength.

I’ve been there…and the result wasn’t pretty.

I’ve done the Bible studies, by the way; I’ve explored the Greek meanings of grace and its counterparts.  Those are all amazing things.  But what I’m sensing from God in this moment is that the coming year can be a time where I don’t just understand the definition of the word.  Rather, I believe it’s going to be a time where I explore everything, in this time and place, that grace is and can be to me.  I don’t think it’s going to just be about me, however; what does grace look like when it’s between me and another person, when it arises in a difficult situation, or when it’s God offering me the strength to do what He’s calling me to do?

I am excited about this.  I’m excited about what this is going to accomplish in me and in my relationships….especially in my relationship with God.

I’m hoping to touch base with you from time to time, as I’m able to share what I’m learning and putting into practice.  (I know that I have a lot to learn!)  My prayer for you is that sharing these things will bring blessing to you, even as I’m seeing what they can be in my own life.

Whatever the coming year has for you, I wish for you and pray for you God’s great love, peace and provision…..and of course, His grace!

Enjoy!  –Wren

Would you like to see what some other cool bloggers have chosen for their Word of 2015?  I’m joining some link-ups at the following blogs.  Check them out!

Schoolhouse Review Crew blog:  Word of the  Year 2015 Link-Up

A Glimpse of Our Life blog:  One Word for 2015 Link-Up

Tots and Me blog:  A Word for 2015

Pea of Sweetness:  My Word for 2015:  Purpose a link-up

14 thoughts on “Wren’s Word for 2015: Grace

    • Amen, Brenda! One of the things I have thought of recently is that maybe grace doesn’t always look like I think it does. I am looking forward to trying to hear the Lord’s take on it. 🙂

  1. I’m looking forward to seeing how the concept of grace develops in your life this year. One of my challenges has always been in extending grace to those I love the most.

  2. Grace is a wonderful word! It is always so neat to see what people choose for their word to focus on for the year. 😀 Are you writing your word out somewhere or doing something with the word to keep it at the forefront of your thoughts??

    • As a matter of fact, I do! It is on a fabric board on the wall next to our bed, along with a special verse and a quote. More to come on that as I am continuing to create goals for the year.

      So nice to “see” you, Paula!

    • I am looking forward to what God points out to me this year as well. I loved your word too, Emilee: purpose. What a great one!

Leave a Reply

