Finchnwren’s Top Posts of 2014

Finch and I have only blogged for about a year and a half (well, just over that), but I love seeing which of our posts are the most-viewed….and, I hope, the most-read!  We just received the list in early January, and I’d like to share with you what you….and others…..most-read in 2014.  From 5th to 1st, here is the list!  (The link to each post is highlighted in the title.)  Interestingly enough, you’ll see that two of our top five are highly-visited posts from 2013.  They just keep popping up!

Number 5:  10 Easy Ways to Work Out from Home

One of Wren's fitness DVDs

One of Wren’s fitness DVDs

This was a joint post that Finch and I wrote together.  Both of us have very full and busy lives; but wanted to share ways that fitness could be included for anyone!

So, we wrote this post where each of us shared 5 fitness faves, all of which can be done in the privacy of your own home.  Finch loves Pilates and kettlebell workouts, while I prefer biking and aerobics videos.  But we’ve really got something for everyone in this post!

Check it out and see if you can add some ideas for your own 2015 workouts!

Number 4:  Grilling…Brussels Sprout recipe!

BeforeWe’re all looking for ways to sneak more veggies into our diets, in ways that rise above the “same ol’, same ol” ways we’ve done it in the past.  Finch’s recipe for grilled brussels sprouts nailed it.  As all our readers and viewers can agree, with it being our fourth most popular post of the year!Grilled Brussels Sprouts

Number 3:  Virtual Field Trips to America’s National Parks

The Freedom Trail--Boston National Parks

The Freedom Trail–Boston National Parks

Anyone who knows me well knows that I’m an enormous fan of the U.S. National Parks System.  If there were a way for me to get to all 50 states to visit them, I would be on it!

Well…..that hasn’t happened yet.  But I keep discovering ways to get there…..virtually.  This post, which was included as one of the Schoolhouse Review Crew’s “Virtual Field Trips” roundup, details ways you and your children can visit some fascinating national parks and even do projects online, like the Junior Ranger “Webranger” ones, that will open the door to fun and exciting learning.

Number 2:  Quote of the Day:  from Mary Oliver’s poem “Peonies”

2013_0606_200130AA

I really love fresh flowers; gerbera daisies, hydrangeas, tulips, lilies of the valley….but of them all, peonies are my most-beloved.  Fragrant, full, many-petaled; when they begin to bud and bloom you’ll often find me sitting in my garden, just gazing at them and watching them bend and blow in the wind.

And this post seemed to strike a note with our readers as well.  I found this moving poem about peonies by Mary Oliver and quoted just a snippet of it in one of our “Quotes of the Day.”  But it was visited over and over.  Oliver captures the very essence of this flower, whose life is so brief yet at the same time, so fully overwhelms the senses.

Number 1:  Bridgeway Academy Review:  Marine Biology

Hammerhead Shark Food Web, created by Jackson

Hammerhead Shark Food Web, created by Jackson

In the fall of 2013, Jackson and I were able to review an unbelievably good online marine biology class from Bridgeway Academy for the Schoolhouse Review Crew.  It was our first experience with an online homeschool class, and it was a truly spectacular experience.  Jackson had exciting and interesting assignments, and instructor Carla Berg beautifully opened up the wonderful marine world to her students.  We’d love to do something like that again!

I hope you enjoyed this quick review of some of the fun we’ve had over the past year.  Thanks for stopping by!

Enjoy!  –Wren

P.S.  If you’d like to see some other Top 5 or Top 10 Lists from around the blogosphere, my friend Emilee from Pea of Sweetness is doing a linkup!  Some of my favorite bloggers are in that list.  And if you do go, you MUST check out Emilee’s #3….especially if you are a Veggie Tales fan!  🙂

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Finchnwren’s Top Posts of 2014

  1. Thanks for sharing and linking up your top posts (and sharing my linkup)! I’m sorry I’m just now getting around to commenting! The Brussel Sprouts recipe looks amazing! I will be pinning that for later! 🙂

    • Hi, Emilee! Thank you!

      I’ve always been amazed at the way roasting enhances the flavor of veggies. Let us know what you think, if you get a chance to make them!

Leave a Reply

