In honor of my sister’s cinnamon rolls…..

Jackson and I made some on Sunday!

He and I have become more interested in cooking together lately; perhaps it’s the influence of Master Chef Junior, which we just love!  (It’s one of the two shows we watch on tv.  The other one is America’s Funniest Home Videos.  Yes, I do have a son.)

I didn’t have all the ingredients for the sweet rolls recipe we normally make.  However, as so often happens, the Internet came to our rescue!  Specifically, from Allrecipes.com.  (They are SO helpful!)  I did an online search for “cinnamon rolls” and found  Amy’s Buttermilk Cinnamon Rolls recipe.

They are very easy to make.  Normally, I use my Bosch mixer for all my breads and cookies; it kneads everything really quickly.  But I thought we’d just follow the recipe directions, which called for mixing everything by hand.  Even kneading!  And I have to say that doing it by hand was cool.  Jackson did every step himself except for the kneading, which he let me do.  (Only 20 times.)

Here are our gorgeous rolls!  (Naturally, they’re half gone by now.)

Amy's Buttermilk Cinnamon Rolls.....made by Jackson and Wren

Amy’s Buttermilk Cinnamon Rolls…..made by Jackson and Wren

Oh, and I did mix up a powdered sugar/milk/vanilla extract glaze to go over them.

We were inspired by Finch’s cinnamon rolls mention over the weekend!

Enjoy!  –Wren

2 thoughts on “In honor of my sister’s cinnamon rolls…..

    • We loved them! In fact, I think I prefer this recipe to our old tried-and-true version.

      And, they’re a neat mom-child activity. 🙂

      So nice to “see” you, Jeanne!

Leave a Reply

