Family, Fun & Homeschooling! Featuring Tess from Circling Through This Life

Welcome to this week’s edition of Family, Fun & Homeschooling!

F,F & H finchnwren.com

I’m thrilled to introduce you to my friend Tess from Circling Through This Life.  She reviews with me on the Schoolhouse Review Crew, and I think you’ll love meeting her!  I’ve always been a little in awe of Tess, since I’ve “met” her and “seen” her on the Crew forums.  She is one of those women who always seems to have everything together and be so organized.  Yet, as you’ll see, along with those gifts she’s both lovely and personable!

Tell us about your blog.  What was the spark of the idea that brought forth your blog?

I started my blog because I wanted an outlet to express things that were on my heart.  Thoughts and ideas that I hoped would encourage other stay-at-home home schooling moms.  The blog title Circling Through This Life comes from a line in a poem I wrote in high school about how some people do not live in the moment and life passes them by.  I wanted my blog to be something that helped me to live in the moment.

Do you have a favorite blogging topic that you return to again and again?

I do keep coming back to topics relating to faith or my faith journey.  Lately, because of health concerns with my family I’ve been starting to blog more about health and nutrition.  I plan to blog more recipes and tips.

Tess' lovely familyTell us about your family.  How did you and your husband meet?  And what would you like to share about your children?

My husband and I have been married just over 20 years.  He is my best friend.  We have four beautiful daughters who have always been home schooled.  Our oldest has graduated and is in her second year of college.  My husband and I met in college at a combined birthday and Christmas party.  We talked for hours and hours and hours and people were asking us how long we had been dating and did not believe us when we said we had just met.

What made you decide to homeschool?

When my oldest was 14 months old we began to investigate home schooling because we were active duty military and not happy with DoD schools.  Knowing that we would be moving frequently we wanted a consistent education for our daughter.  The deal was sealed though when our twins were born and one of them was immuno-compromised.  We primarily home school for educational reasons but I do like that it gives us the freedom to explore our faith more deeply.

What does a day in your homeschool look like?

With one in college and two in high school, things look very different now than they did 10 years ago.  A typical day lately starts with my getting up after my husband and college girl have left.  I try to do some work such as working on menu planning, school  planning, or stuff for the Review Crew.  Supergirl and I get started in the morning on her school work.  Sometime in the late morning the high schoolers roll out of bed, get some breakfast and start working independently on their assignments.  Some afternoons I alternate meeting with them to discuss their work or help them with math or science.  I miss the days when we all did school together and I was more involved in the day-to-day teaching.

Do you have a favorite “date night” you love to do?

When the girls were little and we really couldn’t afford a babysitter we would get special snacks for us, set up the girls in another room with a movie or a game and then we’d be alone in the family room with our snacks watching a movie or a “grown up” TV show.  Now that we can leave the girls alone we often run errands together and stop and have lunch, just the two of us.

What are some of your favorite mama-child activities?

When my daughters were little, I think my favorite activities were snuggling while reading aloud and baking cookies.  I am not a crafty mom and doing messy crafts was stressful but reading aloud?  Baking cookies and sharing them?  Yes.  That I could do.  We would have “tea time” and I would read aloud and they would drink juice in a tea cup.  Now they are older and I enjoy having tea and talks with them.  We’ll just sit and have tea and discuss everything and anything from books and movies to religion and politics.

Is there anything else you’d like to share?

Just a thank you for including me!

Circling Through This Life

I hope it has been as fun for you to read all about Tess, as it has for me to host her today!  Be sure to visit Circling Through This Life for more fun Tess info.  🙂

And join us again next week for another episode of Family, Fun & Homeschooling!

Enjoy!  –Wren

5 thoughts on “Family, Fun & Homeschooling! Featuring Tess from Circling Through This Life

Leave a Reply

