Koru Naturals–A TOS Review

As our readers know, I have had the opportunity to use and review some amazing books and curricula from the Schoolhouse Review Crew.  For my first Crew review of 2015, we’re stepping out of the curriculum box into another fantastic review category—skin care!

Koru Naturals ReviewKoru Naturals provided a variety of wonderful natural skin care products for Crew members to use and review.  We received Pure Emu Oil and Koolpurrie Restoring Balm.  And they have been nothing short of amazing!

Koru Naturals' Koolpurrie Restoring Cream and Pure Emu Oil

Koru Naturals’ Koolpurrie Restoring Balm and Pure Emu Oil

Koru Naturals is a company which, as you’d imagine from its name, sells naturally-sourced products.  What makes Koru Naturals even more fascinating is its tagline, which explains more about this company’s unusual name and products:  “the beauty of New Zealand.”  “Koru” is a Maori word for the tiny, curling frond that begins each new shoot of the fern plant.  To the Maori of New Zealand, the koru symbolizes strength, life and peace.

Koru Naturals takes natural ingredients prized in New Zealand and creates unusual and efficient beauty and body products that are never tested on animals, and that have more natural ingredients than many products that are on the market.  (Not to mention fewer–or no–artificial ingredients!)  I personally am astounded at how well the products we used worked for us, and I can recommend them highly to you.  Let me tell you about our experiences!

Koolpurrie Restoring Balm

I was very, very interested in trying the Koolpurrie Restoring Balm for my son, Jackson.  We live in an extremely dry climate, and every winter his hands get so chapped that they sometimes bleed.  This photo doesn’t quite do justice to what his hands looked like before we started using the balm.  But his knuckles and wrists had scabs on them from dryness, the skin was almost sand-paper-ish in its texture, and they were reddish and painful.

Jackson's hands.....BEFORE koolpurrie restoring balm

Jackson’s hands…..BEFORE Koolpurrie Restoring Balm

Even if they don’t get quite as bad as in that photo, his knuckles do get red, sore, rough and chapped.  We have used a variety of ointments and creams on his hands.  Nothing has really solved the problem completely, and often the products sting or burn his skin, due to (I’m imagining) perfumes or artificial ingredients.  It is, of course, worse in the winter; but that’s a lot of  months to suffer through with sore, dry and bleeding skin!

Koru Naturals ReviewHowever, unlike many products available for dry skin, Koolpurrie Restoring Balm has no perfumes and no artificial ingredients.  Shockingly, it has only TWO ingredients:  lanolin and emu oil.  Isn’t that amazing?  Most lotions and creams, even “organic” or “natural” ones, generally have about 8 or 10 ingredients to start with.  And many include those dreaded unpronounceable names as ingredients.  Or, they contain petroleum derivatives.

But the Koolpurrie Restoring Balm’s two ingredients, combined in a thick, preservative-free balm, bring amazing qualities to the table.  If you look up “emu oil” and “lanolin” online, as I did, you find that they’re both credited with properties that are soothing to the skin.  Lanolin, as I’m sure you’ve heard, comes from sheep and is extracted from their wool; it is extremely hydrating to skin and apparently absorbs very effectively.  Emu oil comes from–of course–emus!  It is a traditionally-used oil by Australian Aboriginal tribes.  It contains both omega-3s and omega 6s and is deeply moisturizing.

I have used Koolpurrie Restoring Balm just a little on my own hands and cuticles; I wanted to reserve it for my son’s hands.  And it has worked incredibly well.  In fact, his hands’ roughness, redness and dryness have been soothed and he’s experiencing no more pain!

Jackson's hands, after Koolpurrie use

Jackson’s hands, after Koolpurrie use

It may not show up as well as I’d like it to in the photo, but the rough, sandpaper-y texture of Jackson’s skin is gone.  There is still a little redness, but this balm has really blessed his hands!  We put it on them every night before bed, so that it can really soak in throughout the night hours.  It has helped SO much.  We’ve used almost half of the 1.4 ounce container; but, we have to use a lot less every night now than we did at first, simply because Jackson’s hands are so much better!  We’re continuing to use the balm, however; it’s still a cold, dry winter and we do a lot of hand-washing!

Koolpurrie Restoring Balm....after quite a few uses!

Koolpurrie Restoring Balm….after quite a few uses!

 

No less amazing is Koru Naturals’ Pure Emu Oil.

Koru Naturals' Pure Emu Oil

Koru Naturals’ Pure Emu Oil

While I’d wanted to use the Koolpurrie Restoring Balm specifically for my son and his dry hands, I was very anxious to try the Koru Naturals’ Pure Emu Oil myself.  Emu oil can be used as a moisturizer (facial and body) and for a variety of skin issues, although Koru Naturals recommends that it not be used on broken skin.  When I was browsing the company’s website, I noticed that users of the emu oil had shared their stories; one of those stories mentioned how much Koru Naturals’ Pure Emu Oil had helped the user’s psoriasis.

Plaque psoriasis is a non-contagious skin condition that occurs when skin cells in one area begin to grow rapidly and form silvery-white, or red, plaques.  Occasionally, I have had small plaques appear on my skin; I thought they were scabs at first, but no.  They were psoriasis plaques.  I don’t get them that often, and I have a prescription cream that I’ve used in the past to clear them up.  However, what I discovered is that it takes about 6 weeks for the plaques to go away untreated, and it also takes about 6 weeks for them to go away when I use the prescription cream!

When I found that someone had successfully used Koru Naturals’ Pure Emu Oil on psoriasis, I was intrigued.  And excited.  A very little amount of the oil goes a long way; so I put a bit on my fingertips and rubbed them on the plaques.  I did this just before I went to bed.

A few drops of Pure Emu Oil

A few drops of Pure Emu Oil

To say that I was shocked the next morning is an UNDERSTATEMENT.

The plaques (there were three of them that I applied the oil to) were gone!  They had just flaked off.  Overnight.

After ONE USE.

I continued to apply the emu oil twice daily for about two weeks.  Underneath the plaques was a little scarring, redness and tenderness.  But gradually, as I continued to apply the oil, the skin no longer felt tender and the redness went away as well.

I have continued to apply the emu oil several times weekly to those areas, just because I think it is an amazing product.  But I have been completely astonished at how it has blessed my skin!

Now.  If you are a regular reader of finchnwren.com, you know that I am not a doctor.  So I cannot dispense medical advice to you.  I am not qualified to do so, and I’d recommend that you check with your own medical professional regarding any questions you might have about these products.

But I can tell you that our experiences with Koru Naturals’ products have been absolutely phenomenal.  Better, in fact, than I could have imagined!

Koru Naturals' Koolpurrie Restoring Balm and Pure Emu Oil

Koru Naturals’ Koolpurrie Restoring Balm and Pure Emu Oil

Both the Koolpurrie Restoring Balm (priced at $12.50) and the Pure Emu Oil (priced at $9.85 for the 2 oz. bottle) can be purchased directly from Koru Naturals.  They are incredible products from an outstanding company!

 

Koru Naturals Review 

Crew Disclaimer Enjoy!  –Wren

8 thoughts on “Koru Naturals–A TOS Review

  1. Oh see now I want the restoring balm. I’m about out of the Emu Oil and I’m really enjoying that. Love the before and after. That’s amazing. Might get my nephew some for his work worn hands.

  2. We absolutely loved the emu oil here in our house.. And the shampoo/conditioner was a huge hit 🙂 Now I guess I should think about the restoring balm for my husband’s hands. I think Koru will be getting orders from our household on a regular basis..

  3. Our sons have similar issues! My sons hands look exactly like your son Jackson’s hands. So dry, chapped, red, scabby, and yes, at times bleeding. I love the Koolpurrie for his hands, too. Wow, it’s made such a huge difference! And your experience with the Emu Oil is amazing. What an awesome review! I loved it! These are definitely some very worthwhile products.

    • Isn’t that something? We are so grateful for these amazing Koru products! And thank you so much, Leah, for your sweet and kind words. Bless you!

    • I hope that it’s been as wonderful for you as it has for us. I don’t know why it works so beautifully, but we’re so grateful to have found it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

