Family, Fun & Homeschooling! Featuring Jen from Happy Little Homemaker

Welcome to this week’s Family, Fun & Homeschooling!

F,F & H finchnwren.comI’m so excited to introduce you to Jen Steed from Happy Little Homemaker.  Jen is another homeschooling friend from the Schoolhouse Review Crew.  I loved getting to “meet” her and I LOVE some of her ideas!  In fact, I’m thinking about how to implement some of them into my own homeschool!

Without further ado….here’s Jen!

Introducing Jen!

Introducing Jen!

Tell us about your blog.

My blog is Happy Little Homemaker.  I write about the top 5 priorities of Christian women — faith/Catholicism and taking care of yourself, your marriage, your kids & your home.  I started blogging as a local blogger when my daughter was a baby because she would only nap while nursing.  Hubs bought me a NetBook (before tablets and iPhones) and after reading blogs I decided to start one.  I gave up the local focus and tried several other ideas before finally coming up with Happy Little Homemaker.  My blog took its current direction after reading the book, A Mother’s Rule of Life.

Do you have a favorite blogging topic that you return to again and again?

I tend to blog about whatever my projects are at the time, but books are almost always at the root of just about any post because I love to read to myself & the children.  Even my 20 month old looks at books while nursing ;).

Right now, I’m trying to live out our Catholic faith & be a better mom and homeschooler and so that’s what I’m writing a lot  about.

Tell us about your family.  How did you and your husband meet?  And what would you like to share about your children?

Hubs &  I met when his roommate was dating my roommate.  They were sick of third-wheels & the rest, as they say, is history :).  I have a 7 year old daughter who is very visually oriented and loves people.  My 4 year old daughter is quite the helper and, internally motivated, shall we say.  My 20 month old boy is curious, exhausting & very persistent.

What made you decide to homeschool?

We always knew we would.  I had an awful school experience from a social standpoint.  And a boring one from an educational standpoint.  Hubs was homeschooled for a year.  After years of less than stellar education experiences in high school and college, we decided that the educational system was broken.  Since I was willing to homeschool, he was, too.

What does a day in your homeschool look like?

My second grader does core & independent work in the morning while I work with the preschooler and try to keep the boy out of trouble.  We block schedule our afternoon work dedicating one day a week to history, science/labs/nature study, music appreciation/art & social studies.

Do you have a favorite “date night” you love to do?

We have a sitter come once a week for 2 hours.  Sometimes we go out to eat, but most times we watch a movie or play a game in the basement of our office, which is super close to the house.

What are some of your favorite mama-child activities?

I read :).  And plan special holiday stuff.  Or unit study stuff.  In the summer, we do lots of walks, runs, bike rides.

happy_little_button-v2Jen’s vivid writing makes it so easy to imagine her beautiful family life!  And I love that she is a fellow bibliophile.  Books just make everything better.  🙂

Be sure to visit Jen at Happy Little Homemaker!  And visit us next week for another episode of Family, Fun & Homeschooling!

Enjoy!  –Wren

 

 

2 thoughts on “Family, Fun & Homeschooling! Featuring Jen from Happy Little Homemaker

Leave a Reply

