Family, Fun & Homeschooling — Featuring Kristy from Jensen Family Circus

Welcome to this week’s Family, Fun & Homeschooling!

F,F & H finchnwren.comThis week, I’m thrilled to introduce you to Kristy from the Jensen Family Circus blog.  Like me, she is the mom of boys…except she has three to my one!  Kristy is a fellow Schoolhouse Review Crew blogger (she has the CUTEST blog design, by the way…you have to visit her and take a look).  You’re going to love hearing about her sweet life.  Here is a bit of her story!

kristi jensen picTell us about your blog. What was the spark of the idea that enabled you to create your blog?

I started my blog a few months after having my second son. I was desperate to connect with others and to see what other mothers did in the same situation. I really just wanted to document our musings each day and get connected with other women. My blog is about raising boys (I now have 3 of them), homemaking, and homeschooling. It has really evolved since I first began in 2011.

Do you have a favorite blogging topic that you return to again and again?

I love to blog about what God has done in my life and how I can encourage others through my journey. I have been through a lot and love to share what worked for me and what didn’t work. I also love blogging about marriage and how God has helped my marriage to flourish over the years.

kristi jensen and kiddosTell us about your family. How did you and your husband meet? And what would you like to share about your children?

My husband and I met when I was 17. It was my first job after graduating from high school and he was my boss. He is 8 years older than me. He asked me out on a date so I got another job (you know, conflict of interest). Best decision of my life. We dated for 3 years and were engaged for 1 year (so a total of 4 years) before getting married. We have three little boys (6, 4, and 1). We also have a son in heaven. My oldest son is a very serious and head strong young man. He is very sensitive and wears his emotions on his sleeve. My middle son is what I call my “lat-te-da” son. He is silly, funny, and not serious at all. He enjoys life to the fullest. My youngest son is almost 2 and so silly. He is a little goofy and looks up to his big brothers. He copies everything they do (whether good or naughty).

What made you decide to homeschool?

I used to think homeschoolers were crazy. My SIL homeschools and has always talked about it and how much she loves it. When my oldest son was 3 I started REALLY praying about it. My husband was not on board at all. I prayed and prayed and asked God to give us clear direction and wisdom in this area. He was so clear with His answer that He sent many people to tell me to homeschool. I attended the HEAV convention and was completely convicted about homeschooling my kids. After many conversations with my husband he agreed to allow me to homeschool for a trial period. When he began to see the results, he was convinced it was the right decision.

kristi jensenfamilyWhat does a day in your homeschool look like?
Since my boys are all still young it is pretty simple at this point. We usually get up and at ‘em by 8am. Breakfast and coffee first thing. Then, the baby gets up and I feed him. School starts about 10am after we clean up from breakfast. The big boys usually take turns doing their school work. While I work with one, the other entertains the baby. Some days I put on a science video or a bible study video and they watch it together while I entertain the baby. School for us is only about an hour and a half. They have free play or nature study (depending on the weather outside) for the rest of the day. They play a lot of Legos and read TONS of books.

kristi jensen and hubbyDo you have a favorite “date night” you love to do?

My husband and I try to go on a date night about once a month or so. We usually go out to eat somewhere that I have a coupon to (I am the coupon Queen). Afterwards, we go to our favorite coffee shop in our historic downtown area. They have open mic night sometimes and the college is nearby. We love the tiramisu and chocolate torte. Sometimes we go for a walk in Colonial Williamsburg after coffee and sometimes we just run errands, kid-free.

What are some of your favorite mama-child activities?

I love taking my kids to the park. Here in my town we have a park called “Kidsburg”. It is so much fun and they even have a baby section. We also like going to the library and shopping in the “friends of the library” section. They love to visit with their Nanny and Poppy who live about 15 minutes away. We also like going on fun day trips like the zoo or nature museum.

Is there anything else you’d like to share?

I would love to share that my husband and I also encourage one another to have activities outside of the home. For instance, I have a good friend (my BFF) who works full time during the week. We meet once a month for coffee and breakfast. It is my kid-free time to just have a conversation with a woman who cares about me and gives me Godly advice. My husband will go golfing with his dad in the nicer months or bowling in the colder months. Getting away for just a few hours is not a bad thing. It helps me to be refreshed and appreciate my life even more.

Jensen Family Circus

Thank you so much for joining us to meet Kristy in Family, Fun & Homeschooling today!  Be sure to visit her at her blog, Jensen Family Circus for more fun and encouragement.

We’ll be back next week with another episode of Family, Fun & Homeschooling.  I hope you have a lovely weekend.  🙂

Enjoy!  –Wren

2 thoughts on “Family, Fun & Homeschooling — Featuring Kristy from Jensen Family Circus

Leave a Reply

