A New Way of Looking at Bread

Are you a bread lover?  I, personally, am an enormous aficionado of freshly-baked bread.  8 years ago, my family purchased a Nutrimill grain mill (which grinds wheat berries–or other grains–into flour) and a Bosch mixer (which is so powerful it will knead enough dough to make 5 loaves of bread in 5 minutes).  Ever since, we have purchased wheat berries so that we could make our own whole grain bread.  In about an hour, you can make several weeks’ worth of bread that will produce great health benefits.

Peter Reinhart's beautiful "Bread Revolution"

Peter Reinhart’s beautiful “Bread Revolution”

When I first saw Peter Reinhart’s beautiful Bread Revolution cookbook, I knew it was something I needed to check out!  His perspectives on bread are very like my own.  He’s a huge fan of making bread from scratch, using whole grain flours.  But, he has also experimented with sprouting grains and using ancient grains.  I knew that ancient grains include spelt, kamut, millet, oats, and even corn.  But, since I don’t own a dehydrator, I’d never tried sprouting grains for bread.   (I was personally a bit worried that they would gum up my Nutrimill!)

The stretch-and-fold technique

The stretch-and-fold technique

Bread Revolution actually teaches you a simple, easy and effective way to sprout your own grain.  And, after you sprout it, you dry the grain back out so that there’s no moisture to inhibit the milling process.  But, there’s so much more than sprouting in this cookbook that even novice bakers can put into practice.  Bread Revolution is really like attending a semester’s worth of classes on fine and artisan baking.  And, your breads, pizza doughs, ciabattas and rolls will actually be things you can feel good about eating!

Mmmm...pizza!

Mmmm…pizza!

Here is a sampling of some of the instructive techniques you can learn from Bread Revolution:

  • A kitchen and bread-baking tutorial
  • Sourdoughs
  • Sprouted Flour Breads
  • Whole Grains and Whole Milling
  • Bread-baking with unusual ingredients

From the tools needed to turn out a great baguette or loaf of bread, to incredible recipes for artisan breads, Reinhart constructs a manual which will enable you to step up to the next level in your baking skills and abilities.  Even though I have had a decent amount of whole grain bread-making experience, this book introduced me to processes and ingredients I never knew existed!

Mini-loaves

Mini-loaves

From challah to muffins; from pizza dough to cinnamon rolls; from croissants to ciabatta—and more—artisan bread recipes are carefully explained to the baker.  The recipes and tutorials are accompanied by incredible photographs; this is a cookbook you’ll want to display, not hide away in a cabinet.  Best of all, you’ll be able to create breads for yourself, your family and community that are full of life and health—as well as flavor.

If you’re looking for a cookbook which will further your understanding of cooking healthfully with grains, and which will teach you advanced baking techniques, Bread Revolution is just what you’re looking for.

I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review.

Enjoy!  –Wren

4 thoughts on “A New Way of Looking at Bread

  1. Oh.my.goodness. I make all our bread, also have both a nutrimill and a bosch, buy all our grains in bulk (rye, buckwheat, spelt, kamut, hard white spring wheat, non-GMO corn and so much more), and use sourdough starter to make all kinds of things. I think I may have a bread psychosis. And now you tell me about a bread book that teaches me to sprout my grains!?! Buying now….

Leave a Reply

