Family, Fun & Homeschooling – Featuring Leah from As We Walk Along the Road

F,F & H finchnwren.comGood morning, and welcome to Family, Fun & Homeschooling!

I’m thrilled to introduce you to Leah from As We Walk Along the Road today.  Leah is a friend from the Schoolhouse Review Crew.  She hosts an interesting linkup every week called Read-Aloud Wednesdays, where she discusses a new book each week that she and her family have read, and where other bloggers can link up their book finds.  She’s even written an ebook, So You Want To Be A Homeschooler?, which you can also find at As We Walk Along the Road.

Without further ado, here’s Leah!

Tell us about your blog. What was the spark of the idea that enabled you to create your blog?

I began blogging in 2009 because I loved the homeschool support that I could find in the blogging community.  As time went on, I wanted to grow my blog and be an encouragement to other homeschoolers.

My blog began with the name, “The Courtney Six” because that’s our family nickname.  A couple of years ago, I changed the name to As We Walk Along the Road.  It comes from Deuteronomy 6:

4 “Hear, O Israel! The Lord is our God, the Lord is one! 5 You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. 6 These words, which I am commanding you today, shall be on your heart. 7 You shall teach them diligently to your sons and shall talk of them when you sit in your house and when you walk by the way and when you lie down and when you rise up. 8 You shall bind them as a sign on your hand and they shall be as frontals on your forehead. 9 You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.

Homeschooling allows me to teach my children the things of God as we walk along the road.

Do you have a favorite blogging topic that you return to again and again?

I seem to blog about whatever season of life I’m in.  So, right now, I have quite a few posts about teenagers.  I also have a passion for reading, so I have lots of reading related posts:  read aloud, book units, book suggestions.

Tell us about your family. How did you and your husband meet? And what would you like to share about your children?

I met my husband in college.  He was actually a senior in high school because he’s four months younger.  We’ve been married 20 years, and he’s still my best friend.  We have four children, ages 15, 14, 10 and 9.

Leah's lovely family

Leah’s lovely family

What made you decide to homeschool?

I had a desire to homeschool my kids since I was in high school and had some friends who were homeschooled.  I would have loved to be homeschooled.  Thankfully I had a spouse who understood and agreed.

I was a school teacher before my kids were born.  I actually have an undergraduate and graduate degree in education.  The plan was always to homeschool until the youngest was in school and then put them all in school and teach.  But… we loved homeschooling.  So we are still homeschooling, now for 10 years.

What does a day in your homeschool look like?

I’m not sure any day is typical.  But, we usually try to begin with devotions around 9:30.  After devotions, the two high schoolers go off to work, and I work with the younger girls together.  We do our together work until lunch time.  Then I finish any together work with the younger crew, and they do their independent work.  The kids are involved in all kinds of extracurricular activities, so that usually takes up our afternoons.

Do you have a favorite “date night” you love to do?

With four kids all at an age that they go, go, go, we don’t get date nights as regularly.  If we happen to have all four kids gone, we really like to stay home together and just hang out instead of being busy the whole time going out somewhere.

What are some of your favorite mama-child activities?

Read aloud is probably my favorite bonding activity.  I love reading aloud, even with my older kids.  We also like board games.  My 14 year old son especially is my game buddy.

Is there anything else you’d like to share?

Homeschooling is such a blessing even though it isn’t always easy.  We have kids now who are really getting to the age that we can see benefits of the time we’ve been able to spend together homeschooling.  I’m thankful for every minute- even the really hard ones.

Leah Courtney button

Leah Courtney is a homeschooling mom of four.  She was a schoolteacher in her former life and now loves homeschooling her children.  Recently she began the adventure of homeschooling a high schooler.  She loves reading and reviewing and blogging about life and homeschooling.  You can visit her at As We Walk Along the Road.

Wasn’t it amazing to meet Leah and hear her story!  Be sure to check out her blog, her Read Aloud Wednesdays, and her ebook!

And we’ll be back next week to feature another homeschooling blogger next week in Family, Fun & Homeschooling!

Enjoy!  –Wren

5 thoughts on “Family, Fun & Homeschooling – Featuring Leah from As We Walk Along the Road

  1. I love the blog name. While our marriage and parent life is still young in comparison to yours Leah, we also prefer a date night in rather than out. Ours usually consists of time after their all asleep.

Leave a Reply

