Family, Fun & Homeschooling ~ Featuring Annette from A Net in Time Schooling

Welcome back to Family, Fun & Homeschooling!  I took a short break last week, but we’re up and rolling again now that it’s May.

F,F & H finchnwren.com

Today, I want to introduce you to my friend Annette from A Net in Time Schooling.  Like me, she’s the mama of an only child.  But her homeschooling adventures are very different from ours!  She just shows us another example of the amazing creativity families can live out as they homeschool.  And here’s Annette!

Tell us about your blog. What was the spark of the idea that enabled you to create your blog?

My blog is A Net in Time Schooling. For short I just call it A Net in Time. It’s a bit of play on my name (Annette) and the “In Time” is just that I am me in this time and place. 🙂 I am not a long term planner other than in a global sense. 🙂

So what do I blog about? Faith, family, homeschooling, reviews and what not. I maintain
other blogs as well and I think about combining them into one blog center at times. I
have a place where I do my devotions called Fish and Cans and I’m a bit leery about making those highly public as I don’t know if I want to be scrutinized in how I work out my faith… but then I keep hearing God’s call about reaching out to the world around me and that’s one of the ways I can do that right? So it’s a bit of a toss up right now.

I also have another blog called AT Home Pets. It’s where I talk about my rabbitry and the concerns about it. It’s not a huge rabbitry as I only have 20 holes, but it helps satisfy my need to have critters to care for while bringing in some dollars to help pay for most of my son’s needs and some extras for the household. 🙂

Why do I blog? I like to write. 🙂 I used to scrapbook, but now I blog. 🙂 I can talk about
the things in life that are important to me and hopefully chat with others about it as well.

Do you have a favorite blogging topic that you return to again and again?

My son and what we are learning. That is honestly what I blog about the most. I am
learning to turn those topics into better overall posts. But still, I just like to talk about the
wonder of what we are learning. It’s a great thing you know?

Annette 1Tell us about your family. How did you and your husband meet? And what would you like to share about your child?

I was a confirmed single person who was feeling alone. I didn’t know a whole lot of
single people. So I went onto a Christian singles site just to find people to talk to. I
talked with both guys and girls (I know odd eh?) I ended up meeting my hubby and we
chatted for a quite a while on­line before we got together for a visit. I remember my dog
wasn’t real fond of his dog but they gradually worked things out. :). I have friends who
were shocked for quite a while that I actually ended up getting married. 🙂

We married late, dealt with miscarriages and have a lovely nine year old. He’s a bright
boy who loves playing minecraft. 🙂 He’s learning to appreciate math and likes writing
stories. History is good and science is a blast. He raises mice to help support a raptor
rescue. One of my rabbits is also HIS rabbit and he is an excellent around the house
helper.

What made you decide to homeschool?

Several factors. We knew people who successfully homeschool. I didn’t like the
schooling of many of the teens I worked with at the local Subway.

Annette 4What does a day in your homeschool look like?

Well.. hmm.. how do I answer that?

One thing remains constant. 20 minutes of reading daily. EVERY day except Sunday.
Mondays are hubby’s day off so he does on­line history in the morning and then I pack
things along in case he and gramma want to do some schooling in the afternoon.
Nothing complicated, mostly reading and talking type things.

Tuesdays and Thursday. We have dailies that we do. Grammar, math practice, bible,
reading out loud and such like. Then we add history, science, geography or whatever
else I toss into the mix. Wednesday we do the FoodBank in the morning and the
afternoon we squeeze in some dailies (not all) and some math and science. Friday’s is a
mix up day. We do some schooling but nothing heavy duty as we often will pick up a
museum to visit, friends to visit, phys ed, co­op days and what not.

Saturdays we do a bit of schooling. Nothing heavy just we like learning and I am raising a
singleton so it’s an excellent way to keep him busy. 🙂

Do you have a favorite “date night” you love to do?

Every Monday is hubby’s day off. So we take lad to gramma’s and hubby and I blip
about, running errands, going for a walk/fishing/skating depending on season. I often
have rabbits to deliver so we do that first off as well. 🙂

 

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

What are some of your favorite mama-­child activities?

Favourite mom­child activities? Most anything. I LOVE going for walks… my boy
somewhat less so but I love it when I get him to come out with me. But we go museum
hopping, we play games, we generally just enjoy being around each other. Reading
together is probably a stand by thing we’ll not stop doing together.

Picture

I hope you’ve enjoyed meeting Annette from A Net in Time Schooling!  Be sure to check out her blog.  She has so much homeschooling info on so many topics (rabbits, art, freebies, science, philosophy, and much more) that I  know you’ll find engaging.

Join us again next week for another Family, Fun & Homeschooling!

Enjoy!  –Wren

5 thoughts on “Family, Fun & Homeschooling ~ Featuring Annette from A Net in Time Schooling

Leave a Reply

