“Successful Homeschooling Made Easy” Course ~ A TOS Review

How long has it been since you’ve sat under a godly mentor or attended a personal growth seminar–for your homeschooling?

 

Successful Homeschooling Made Easy ReviewFor me, it’s been quite awhile; and that’s why I was so excited to be selected by the Schoolhouse Review Crew to review Stephanie Walmsley’s Successful Homeschooling Made Easy Course, from Successful Homeschooling Made Easy.  My excitement at being chosen to use and review this course was only exceeded by all that I learned, and the encouragement I received, as I worked through the first 9 lessons of this 26-week course.

What it is:

The Successful Homeschooling Made Easy Course is designed, really, for any homeschooling parent, whether she is considering homeschooling for the first time or is a veteran homeschooler.  Each week, Stephanie Walmsley sends a lesson via email for mom.  The lessons include reading and questions related to the week’s topic.  Each lesson builds upon the ones before.  And, each chapter ends with a short preview of what’s coming up in the next lesson.

The easiest way to work through the lessons is to print them as they come each week, and put them in a binder.  I recommend this because it makes it so easy to pick up the pages and read through them, and then do the activities and assignments included.

 

Successful Homeschooling Made Easy ReviewThe pages are cleanly organized and have portions for reading and portions for the user to write answers, ideas and questions to the weekly work.

How I used it:

The program recommends that the mom set aside undivided time each week to work on the lesson.  I decided to add it to my morning quiet time, when I’m already up (before anyone else in the house) having coffee and reading my Bible.  You can really select any time of the day or week to do this; because I’m a morning person and have time to myself then, it was an ideal time for me.

I selected a day once per week to do the main work of the week’s lesson; that is, reading and answering the questions.  Here’s what the first 9 chapters (for most users, that means the first nine weeks’ worth of lessons) cover:

  • Lesson One:  Start Homeschooling Today
  • Lesson Two:  Math Made Easy (with an extra PDF called Math Ideas)
  • Lesson Three:  Welcome Home!
  • Lesson Four:  Fireproof Your Homeschool
  • Lesson Five:  Three Key Ingredients for Success
  • Lesson Six:  Fulfill Your Dreams
  • Lesson Seven:  Why Curriculum Doesn’t Matter
  • Lesson Eight:  Why You Might Need to Let Go of Good Things
  • Lesson Nine:  Housework and Homeschool

And I still have 17 lessons to go!  But I fully expect that the remaining ones will be as useful as the first 9, for me, for our homeschool, and for my family.

My conclusions:

I mentioned earlier that it has been quite awhile since I’ve had a wise homeschool mentor in my life.  And, it’s also been over 5 years since I have attended a homeschool conference.  Now, at the same time, I must say that I haven’t had a felt need for these things.  And I don’t say that out of pride, but just for these reasons: I have been homeschooling for 9+ years; we have a pretty good homeschool routine down; and we’ve experienced challenges that took my attention quite firmly away from pursuing personal growth.  I just haven’t been able to make space or time in our lives to pursue conferences and speakers in recent years, nor has a mentor presented herself.

However, that doesn’t mean that I haven’t needed these things.

How much I needed them actually surprised me!  Although I have all these homeschool  years under my belt, the fresh perspectives and wise and godly counsel provided in the Successful Homeschooling Made Easy Course have provided great encouragement, refreshment and even wonderful plans to revitalize my homeschool.  Every single week’s lesson has given me something good, whether it’s something practical like revising our daily schedules (for greater peace and enjoyment) or something personal for me (like being sure that I am in a healthy place).

Stephanie Walmsley’s writing style is generous, open and so very helpful.  The graphics and pages are laid out in a visually appealing way.  And most important, the wisdom and understanding she’s accrued over her life will equip and enable every homeschool mom—veteran or newbie!

You can purchase the Successful Homeschooling Made Easy Course at Successful Homeschooling Made Easy.  I highly recommend it.  The small investment of your own time with this course will bring peace, joy, and encouragement to your homeschool–and your life!

 

Social Media link: https://www.facebook.com/TheBroadRoom

Successful Homeschooling Made Easy ReviewCrew DisclaimerEnjoy! –Wren

Leave a Reply

