Family, Fun & Homeschooling! Today, meet Rebekah from There Will Be A $5 Charge For Whining

Welcome back to Family, Fun & Homeschooling!  We’ve had a lovely time on vacation with out-of-town family (including my sister Finch and her loved ones–both two-legged and four-legged!) but I’m happy to be home again.  I’m also so glad to be posting Family, Fun & Homeschooling again.  While we were out of town, I had a serious issue with the wireless….which made me virtually absent for a couple of weekends!

F,F & H finchnwren.comYou are going to love meeting my friend Rebekah from There Will Be A $5 Charge For Whining.  As my son said, “You know with a blog title like that she is going to be funny!”  But Rebekah is much more than funny (although she definitely is that).  She is godly, inspiring, encouraging…and she has a pretty amazing story.  And I love, love, love her shabby chic blog design.  Read on to meet Rebekah!

Rebekah headshot

Tell us about There Will Be A $5 Charge For Whining.  How did you come up with your amazing blog?

I started my blog as a way to express myself. I was experiencing some pretty hefty challenges at the time. Previously, when I was a younger woman, I had been diagnosed with Cardiomyopathy. I had a few years of relatively good heart function and then BAM! I went to into active heart failure. This, unfortunately, was just the latest in some life changing events. Let’s just say that it wasn’t the first time I almost died. I had always liked to write and had done some professionally. My blog was a way I could lament to my heart’s content. It grew into something more as my health improved and life continued to take its twist and turns. I was blogging before we started homeschooling. I just naturally started talking about that, too. I’m not as concerned about growing a blog as I am about sharing my heart…At least I can count on my momma to read it!

Do you have a favorite blogging topic that you return to again and again?

I have a few. It is my desire to inspire and encourage. I want to help folks make most of the smallest moments in their lives. I have found that making a beautiful life is nothing more than embracing what comes and finding the joy in the small things. I talk about my faith and how God has been faithful in everything. I also talk about my weight loss journey and experiences. In the past few years, I have lost 80 pounds! Of course, I occasionally include utter nonsense. Sometimes I need a filter. And an editor.

Rebekah and hubby

Tell us about your family. How did you and your husband meet? And what would you like to share about your child/children?

My husband and I will celebrate our 24th anniversary in October. I have a secret. I am only 26. Hah! At least, that is what I keep telling myself. My husband is a pastor and we met at church. He was our children’s pastor at the time. I was 19. He was 29. I met him in April. We started dating in June and got engaged in July. We were married in October. We also spent our honeymoon at his ordination service. Nothing says romance like a District Assembly of God business meeting! Josiah came to us 10 years later. He was truly a miracle. I had miscarried my one and only baby just a few months before. Josiah was 2 weeks old when we received parental custody. I recognized him the minute I laid eyes on him. He is now 13. And perfect. As perfect as a 13-year-old boy with a hazy moustache can be.

Rebekah sonWhat made you decide to homeschool?

I was trained to be a teacher. I have taught preschool, music, kindergarten, first and second grade. I had some reservations when we put Josiah into kindergarten. I knew something wasn’t quite right, but decided that the school system could help me figure it out. He didn’t go back to first grade. We discovered later that Josiah is dyslexic. He also has dyscalculia and dysgraphia. Homeschooling has been a challenge, but one we haven’t regretted in the least. Of course, all of this was going on when I was recovering from a health crisis. We had had a couple of rocky years and we felt that Josiah needed consistency. I also wanted to spend every available minute with my family. I don’t take these years for granted.

Rebekah son 2What does a day in your homeschool look like?

Each day is different. Josiah has a few outside activities. He attends a PE class at a local university 2 days a week. He also is on the swim team at the Y. I teach a reading class to a small group once a week. I generally have a list ready of things to be accomplished throughout the week. We read a lot. I follow a hybrid Charlotte Mason schedule and try include lots of art, music and practical skills in our schooling. Josiah helps out with our laundry and can make a mean pancake. We do have our priorities!

Do you have a favorite “date night” you love to do?

What is this date night you speak of? I know! Having a date night is so important for any married couple. My husband works evenings 4 days a week. We make sure we have a family night and we commute on the weekends. The Muffin is the Associate Pastor at our church…which is over an hour away. We have tried to take an overnight trip on occasion. I have to tell you though that our favorite thing to do together is to go to dinner and then Thrift Shopping! Such treasures can be found at the Thrift Store!

What are some of your favorite mama-child activities?

Josiah gets lots of Momma time. We do have traditions. I take him to the cheap movie once a month. When the weather gets nicer we like to go to concerts in the park. At home we enjoy making interesting food, watching cool documentaries (Josiah is a weather buff) and just hanging out. There is something wonderful about unscheduled time. I do miss the bubble blowing and finger painting days.

Rebekah funny picIs there anything else you’d like to share?

I just want to encourage anyone and everyone to make the most of every minute. This doesn’t mean that you have to schedule Pinterest-worthy events. Just don’t sweat the small stuff. Learn to enjoy those people you live with and if it isn’t working don’t do it! And no, this doesn’t give us permission to cut out math in general…I’m talking to myself here! Just breathe in and out and smile. The day will get brighter.


Wasn’t that fun?  And encouraging?  I KNEW you’d love Rebekah too!  I also wanted to share a link to one  of Rebekah’s recent posts that I really enjoyed.  She hosted A Graduation Tea for her niece and you MUST see the pictures…and read about their lovely time!  The food looks absolutely scrumptious and the food…..well, let’s just say it’s probably good for Rebekah that I didn’t show up….I would have made a serious dent in those goodies.

Be sure to hop over and visit Rebekah at her beautiful blog….There Will Be A $5 Charge For Whining.  Thanks for visiting Family, Fun & Homeschooling.  Now that we’re home and using our own DSL, I’m hoping that this series will be back on schedule!


Rebekah Teague is a homeschooling Mama of one creative and highly-entertaining son. She has been married to The Muffin Man who is a pastor and a great guy. She resides in the Ozark Mountains and blogs at There Will Be A $5 Charge For Whining.

Enjoy!  –Wren

2 thoughts on “Family, Fun & Homeschooling! Today, meet Rebekah from There Will Be A $5 Charge For Whining

Leave a Reply

