Family, Fun & Homeschooling ~ Meet Heather from “Running with Spears”

F,F & H finchnwren.com

I want to introduce you to a fascinating blogger today named Heather Kelley.  Heather’s blog Running With Spears was nominated in the 2014 Homeschool Blog Awards from The Homeschool Post.  Her category?  Best Nitty Gritty Blog.  And, she was a finalist!

I’m always looking for fun new blogs, and I love to browse through all the blogs that were nominated for The Homeschool Post’s blog awards each year.  Heather’s blog is truly a breath of fresh air.  As you might guess from the category she was nominated for, she shares in an open and honest manner….that is actually hilarious as well!  (Seriously, she could easily  have been nominated for Funniest Homeschool Blog!)

She’s also a great photographer.  You MUST click over to her blog and look at her header!  Her self-portrait is SO fun.  (Plus, she has really cute glasses.)

Without further ado—-here’s Heather from Running With Spears!

Heather Kelley headshot

How did you come up with your wonderful blog?

So, my blog title, Running With Spears was actually inspired by a quote from Avatar: The Last Airbender, “Love each other, respect all life, and don’t run with your spears.” I want my blog to be a place that does the first two, and the third, well, we’re pretty crazy and not so great at following rules around here, so if we had any spears, I’m pretty sure we’d be the type of people who would totally run with them!

Heather Kelly pic 1Do you have a favorite blogging topic that you return to again and again?

Nope. I have two favorites. 😉
a) I am a real, actual person who does NOT have it all together, which I will demonstrate by giving you a peek into my messy, unglamorous life.
b) Enough with the judgement already. We don’t need to spew random criticism of everyone all over Facebook. What good does it do the world for there to be one more article about how horrible the people are who make different parenting choices than I do? Oh no, that person over there let their kid eat nothing but french fries at McDonald’s, let me tell the world what a better Mom I am than that! Oy! Just no.

Tell us about your family. How did you and your husband meet? And what would you like to share about your kiddos?

On our first date we sat at the theater and watched some awful movie that was actually a sequel to some other movie I’d never seen. My (now) husband kept trying to whisper stuff to me the whole time about what was going on but it was just annoying. I probably would have left immediately after that and never dated him again, but he had promised to buy me his favorite truffle from a chocolate shop at the mall, and well, I’m a sucker for chocolate. We ended up hanging out for hours and hours, and now we’re about to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary!

Heather Kelley pic 3

We have three girls ages eight, five and one. They are, of course, a blessing and a handful. 😉

What made you decide to homeschool?
I was homeschooled, so I always planned on at least considering it. Then my oldest was diagnosed with SPD and when it was time for her to start kindergarten, homeschool seemed by far the best option to meet her needs. So it’s what we did, and it just stuck.

Heather Kelley pic 2

What does a day in your homeschool look like?
Insanity. 😉

I jest. But right now we mostly unschool, except for math. So it looks different every day. Often it looks like lots of playing and making messes, and it always includes me drinking lots of coffee, and praying for help!

Do you have a favorite “date night” you love to do?

We rarely manage to get a sitter for the kids, but we have a standing Sunday night game night. After we get the kids in bed we pull out one of our favorite board games like Smash Up or Small World and battle one another to the death. (What? Me, hyperbolize? Never.)

What are some of your favorite mama-child activities?

With three littles, one-on-one time can be hard to come by. Simple things like taking just one of my girls with me to the grocery store when my husband is working from home and can watch the others qualifies as a special date around here. I like to play board games with my eldest two, but I really can’t stand Sorry and Monopoly and the like, so we play stuff more along the lines of Zombie Dice and Castle Panic. We also like to play Just Dance on our Wii.

Heather Kelley pic 4

Is there anything else you’d like to share?
During NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month, which occurs each November 1-30) last year I wrote a middle-grade fantasy novel featuring a strong, brave, powerful girl who is also sensitive and caring and likes to wear dresses. It’s been such a fun process. Hopefully one of these days before long it will be published and you guys will all get to read it! If you want to see updates, be sure to follow my Facebook page.

Heather’s bio:
Heather Kelley can usually be found with her nose in a fantasy book, when she’s not
homeschooling her capricious, quirky girls, or playing computer games with her husband.
She can also be found on her blog, Running With Spears, where she shares her whimsical
misadventures and crazy thoughts, but only when properly caffeinated.


So…Heather’s everything I told you and more, isn’t she?  🙂  One of her recent posts that I really enjoyed was her Father’s Day post:  10 Best Dads in Children’s Books.  (I HAD to include this one because I adore Hans Hubermann, Charles Ingalls and Matthew Cuthbert.  Best book dads ever!)

Hop over to visit Heather at Running With Spears.  And we’ll be back next week to introduce you to another fabulous new blogger!

Enjoy!  –Wren

 

 

4 thoughts on “Family, Fun & Homeschooling ~ Meet Heather from “Running with Spears”

Leave a Reply

