Nichole Nordeman’s “The Unmaking” ~ A Review & Giveaway

I have another fabulous giveaway for you from FlyBy Promotions!

THE UNMAKING banner

You know those moments when the perfect novel, music, or Bible verse unexpectedly speaks to your heart?

Listening to Nichole Nordeman’s The Unmaking CD for the first time was one of those moments!  The perfect music for the perfect time.  And continued listening to this beautiful CD just confirmed my first thoughts about it.

In The Unmaking, Nordeman’s first in some time, she shares parts of her own challenges and journey with God.  The songs are sensitively penned and set to melodies that beautifully enhance the lyrics.  Here’s what Nordeman says about this CD:

“Before things in our lives can be resurrected and given new life, certain things must die.  Before beauty blooms in spring, roots must do the hard work under the hard frozen soil of winter.  Before you renovate and re-build, you tear down the parts of the structure that are weak or damaged or dangerous.  Before we make, we must unmake.”

So…what kinds of stories does Nichole Nordeman tell on this new CD?

First, the title song:  The Unmaking.  What happens when all that we believe we’ve built for God is taken down?  Especially when we’re not expecting it?  This terribly hard process can be a walk where God does amazing things, where beauty arises from ashes.  It’s the perfect song to build an album around.

My next favorite, the fifth song on the CD, is Something Out of Me.  What if you were one of the 5000 on that hillside, the day Jesus fed the multitude?  Would you have felt that He saw you, among all the other thousands there…or that there would be enough for you?  Here are my favorite lines in this collection of songs:

“You take all kinds of nothing
Turn it right into something
I see impossible but
You see a basket full of
A little bit of this sounds crazy
A little bit of just maybe
You take every doubt and
You make something out of me.”

Yep.  I admit it.  Several of the songs on this CD touch me so deeply…that I tear up.  Especially the song which will become beloved by many moms who notice the quick passing of time–“Slow Down.”  Then there’s the beautiful “Not To Us.”  Who gets the glory in all that we do?

There are other amazing songs on this album, all penned by Nichole Nordeman alone or along with other talented songwriters like David Hodges, Matt Brownleewe, or Christopher Shivers.  Regardless of which becomes your favorite, I think you’ll agree with me that this is one CD that you can’t afford to miss.

And—some blessed reader won’t have to!

FlyBy Promotions has provided one CD of The Unmaking for me to give away to someone!  So, enter the Rafflecopter below.  Maybe it’ll be you!

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Enjoy!  –Wren
//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway.  If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win.  Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.”

 

31 thoughts on “Nichole Nordeman’s “The Unmaking” ~ A Review & Giveaway

  1. I have been listening to old songs that I loved to listen to when I was much younger. They were Stryper, Triumph, Angel and Guiffria. I love those songs that they sang made me so happy.

  2. This CD sounds awesome. As silly as it sounds, the children’s magical realism novel, “A Snicker of Magic,” has meant the most to me lately. One of my favorite quotes is, “Believe is a powerful word to see and to say. But that morning, I felt it. And feeling it was the best of all. I knew something wonderful was about to happen to me. I didn’t know what, or why, or how. But I believed.”

  3. The lesson in church that has meant the most to me lately is : GOD’s timing!! It is not about my time.

    My favorite Bible verse lately is : Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you…”

  4. I’ve always liked Nichole Nordeman’s music! I didn’t know she’d come out with a new CD. One of the songs that speaks to me is, “Oceans,” by Hillsong. It challenges me to trust God more.

    As for reading, I’m reading The Best Yes right now, and oh, it’s making me evaluate my decisions. Which is a good thing. 🙂

    • That author keeps popping up, Jeanne. Glad you are liking it!

      Just wish it weren’t so challenging for me to get thru nonfiction. Now fiction, on the other hand!

  5. The Left Behind book by Tim LaHaye. I read it first a long time ago but recent local events have me bringing it up and loaning it out.

Leave a Reply

