City girl meets garden…!

Growing up in big cities doesn’t really lend itself to understanding where food comes from, especially when one grew up in the height of the late 80’s and 90’s, when even actual cooking was definitely not in vogue. Now of course there is a huge emphasis on organic everything and farm to table is more common than ever.

My husband started a garden (yes him, not me); it went through some lumps last season as it was his first. This year…watch out world! I was skeptical about eating out of our own garden, only because I’d never done it. I will confess that I was a little hesitant about tasting that first tomato, but now I’m a convert and I’m a little sorry to say a snob! Nothing tastes better than one of his home grown tomatoes, not in restaurants, not “organic” from the health food store and absolutely not from the supermarket (those will never again darken our door). All the time I’ve been missing out on what real food tasted like. But when your main diet used to consist of microwaved Lean Cuisines and Smart Ones, I guess it makes sense.

This post should really be from him, maybe next time on the glories of kohlrabi (yes, seriously..growing it)!

Here’s a shot of the garden today. Success!

Our garden 9.2015

 

Enjoy—Finch!

 

4 thoughts on “City girl meets garden…!

  1. I loved this–girl meets garden. When I was a girl, my parents had a garden in our back yard. I remembered weeding it, but not the amazing flavors of truly fresh produce. For the past two years (thanks to you guys), I was inspired to try a little gardening of my own. And I will say, nothing tastes as good! Especially the tomatoes. šŸ™‚ I love that food has been transformed for you. šŸ™‚ It has for me too. There’s nothing quite as wonderful as eating food I’ve grown myself. šŸ˜‰

  2. How fun! My girls have been begging us to try our hand at gardening, but I’m pretty sure I’d kill anything I tried to grow! Your garden looks awesome! šŸ™‚

    • Hi Heather! It is really easier than you would think….and kids adore it, whether it’s planting, watering, harvesting, or eating! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

