Meet Callie from Mama’s Coffee Shop ~ Featured Today in Family, Fun & Homeschooling

Hello, and happy Friday!

F,F & H finchnwren.com

Today, I’d like for you to meet my friend Callie from Mama’s Coffee Shop.  Callie and I have served together on  the Schoolhouse Review Crew for several years.  She is a delightful blogger and mama.  Clearly we share a love of coffee!  🙂  She is a wonderful encourager, not only to me, but to her readers and many others as well.  (And, she has the cutest haircut EVER!)

Something else you might enjoy hearing is that Mama’s Coffee Shop won The Homeschool Post’s Best Homemaking and/or Recipes Blog….although she does blog about much more than those two categories!

Callile headshot

Tell us about your blog. What was the spark of the idea that enabled you to
create your blog?

My blog began in 2009 as an encouragement and instruction blog for WAHMs. I
ran an online business back then and this blog was an offshoot from that. I
closed that online business in 2011.

Then in 2012 the Lord pressed on my heart that I needed to take this blog in a
new direction. The blog had been pretty non-existent for a while at that point. So I
prayed about it and began to focus on more personal things.

Now I focus on marriage encouragement, because my own marriage has
issues…doesn’t every ones? LOL

I also talk more about the things I love; My Jesus, our homeschooling
experiences, parenting, food, books, music, reviewing products, movies, and
more!

Do you have a favorite blogging topic that you return to again and again?

Yes. Books, music and food. Unless the Lord presses a particular subject that
needs addressed (usually one from my own life).

Callie fam

Tell us about your family. How did you and your spouse meet? And what
would you like to share about your child/children?

I am married to my best friend, Silvio. We have been together now for 15 years,
married for 13 of those years. My husband and I met when I worked in an
apartment community in Florida. He moved to Florida for school and it was all
God designed from that point! Silvio was a relentless pursuer and it was beyond
flattering for little ole me. One date was all it took, the rest is history, as they say.

We are blessed to have three children. Our oldest son, Isaiah, is 14 years old
and a force to be reckoned with. God has wonderful plans for this young soul,
that I am sure. He yearns to travel and I continue to pray that God leads our son
exactly where he will be able to do the most good.

Our daughter, Ana, is almost 11, and is in the throes of pre-teen craziness. Yet
deep in that heart of hers she is a softy for all of God’s creatures. She has a
helpful and kind heart that will be one of the sweetest (future) mama hearts I will
be blessed to know.

Our youngest son, Joseph, is 7 1/2 and has the most sensitive heart of them all.
He has fierce streak that he tries to temper with his lighthearted outlook on life.
He is a character that wants to see smiles, so he creates instances to garner
them. But he loves Jesus with a passion and for that I am grateful.

What made you decide to homeschool?

When it came time to enroll my oldest in the local elementary school I was so
terrified. Terrified that my inquisitive, ask a million questions, wiggle worm boy
would be slapped with a label; a label that he would have to outrun for the rest of
his life.

So after much prayer and discussion with my husband, I spoke to a local
kindergarten teacher and found out what kindergarteners would need to know at
the end of the school year. Once she listed all of the requirements, I just knew
God’s plan. Our son knew all but two of the requirements. School was not an
option for him.

God touched my husband’s heart and he said we should try this homeschool
thing. We are still “trying” to this day. 

Callie button

What does a day in your homeschool look like?

Over the years I have learned a lot. A day here now looks very relaxed. I have
readers, question askers, play outside days filled with imaginative creative
moments. Then some days we have hardcore lessons with all of the required
math, languages, science, and more.

My children are learning at their own pace, most days. I run to keep up with my
oldest as he dabbles in calculus, physics, technology, and literature. I push a bit
with my daughter as she learns of horses and other animals, making sure that
she gets enough information. And I am introducing new concepts with my
youngest son everyday.

Other than the “required” stuff, we like to read books out loud, visit the library, go
hiking, take care of our pets, play board games, and just be a family. One that
tries to make dinner a sit down together habit each night, even the nights that
daddy isn’t at home with us.

Do you have a favorite “date night” you love to do?

When we can find the time, my husband and I like to see a movie, or hit up the
coffee shop. We try to get away about once a week, but this always contingent
on my husband’s schedule.

What are some of your favorite mama-child activities?

We shop. LOL If one of my kids needs some one on one time with me, we
usually go on errands together. Grocery shopping, Wal-Mart, sometimes we get
a milkshake or lunch when we are out.

Is there anything else you’d like to share?

My husband travels for work. So our days look a lot different around here than
most homeschool families, at least the ones I know. He travels between 4-5 days
a week. So life is so much more relaxed on his days off so that we can “go”
whenever he wants.

We also recently purchased some land and are in the process of getting the land
ready to build a home. We are looking forward to getting out to the land and get
our small homestead up and running.


Thank you for stopping by to meet Callie!  Do check out her wonderful blog, Mama’s Coffee Shop.  One post I really enjoyed there recently was Callie’s review of The Mapmaker’s Children by Sarah McCoy, a new author to me.  Definitely a book I’d like to check out!  And, it has a gorgeous cover, which is always a nice sell on a book for me!

See you next week at Family, Fun & Homeschooling!

Enjoy!  –Wren

4 thoughts on “Meet Callie from Mama’s Coffee Shop ~ Featured Today in Family, Fun & Homeschooling

Leave a Reply

