Meet Becca from “C Family of 6,” in today’s Family, Fun & Homeschooling

Hello again!  Welcome to this week’s Family, Fun & Homeschooling!

F,F & H finchnwren.com

Today, I have the pleasure of introducing you to Becca from C Family of 6!  Becca reviews with me at the Schoolhouse Review Crew (which is actually how we met).  She is a homeschool mama to 4, and while our family sizes are pretty different (yep, we have one boy), both our families love Marvel movies!.  And, like many of my fellow Crewmates, she has deeply encouraged me at different times.  She has an interesting story…so read on!  Here’s Becca!

Tell us about your blog. What was the spark of the idea that enabled you to create your blog?
Well, I initially started blogging as sort of a way to journal. I never really thought it would be more than that, but I really enjoyed doing it. My blog name is sort of a play on our family. C because our last name is Carroll, and we are a family of 6, so C Family of 6!

Do you have a favorite blogging topic that you return to again and again?
I’m trying to remember to menu plan for each week, so when I remember to I will post our menu, plus host a link-up. I love food so much. 😀

Becca C familyTell us about your family. How did you and your spouse meet? And what would you like to share about your child/children?
My husband and I met at the grocery store that we worked out. It was our first job. I felt an instant connection to him, but I had to win him over.

Our daughter Rachelle is 14. She loves all art, and especially loves to draw and paint. She’s also great with makeup. Issac is 12 and a pretty hardcore gamer (as much as a 12 year-old can be). He wants to be a game programmer. Ethan is 10 and also loves gaming. He likes playing Skylanders and Destiny. Lucas is 6, and like his brother, loves gaming. He likes playing Destiny and Roblox on the computer.

What made you decide to homeschool?
Honestly, I was terrified of sending my kids to public school. I had a lot of bad experiences in PS myself, and let’s face it, the school system is failing our children today. Plus I want to be able to incorporate the Word of God into our day if I choose to.

What does a day in your homeschool look like?
I’m fairly laid back when it comes to teaching. Last year was the first year I made a real schedule for us, and it helped keep us on track for the day somewhat. With Rachelle being a freshman this year, I need to be a little more diligent with her. Most of the time we do our work at the dining table, and sometimes in the living room. I love using curriculum that tells me what to say and do. I am definitely not a lesson planner at all.

Do you have a favorite “date night” you love to do?
There is a Mexican restaurant locally that is our favorite place to eat. We know that we will get good food and service there. Sometimes we go to the movies as well, but normally just for Avengers movies.

What are some of your favorite mama-child activities?
Once in a while I will play the Xbox with the boys; Skylanders is pretty fun to me. I like for Rachelle to do my hair and makeup sometimes, too. I also take the kids on “mama dates” individually so we can spend some time alone together. We usually go eat somewhere.

Becca C photoIs there anything else you’d like to share?
Thank you for interviewing me. This was a lot of fun! I’m a bit of an introvert so this was a little out of my comfort zone. It’s hard for me to talk about myself.

Becca’s Bio:

Becca has been married to her awesome husband for 17 years, and they have 4 children. When she has free time she likes to read, knit, and browse the web.


I’ve loved being able to introduce you to Becca!  I also wanted to mention one of my favorite posts that Becca’s written lately, so you can check out her blog too!  It’s just in time for tomorrow as well.  Did you know that September 19 is Talk Like A Pirate Day?  Well, Becca did, and she has all kinds of fabulous piratey activities for you and your kiddos at 10 Pirate Learning Activities for Kids!  (Don’t let the “learning” part fool you.  Your kids will have a marvelous time and they’ll never know they’re learning on the weekend!)

See you next week, when I’ll be back with a new blogger at Family, Fun & Homeschooling!

Enjoy!  –Wren

3 thoughts on “Meet Becca from “C Family of 6,” in today’s Family, Fun & Homeschooling

Leave a Reply

