Introducing Lisa from A Rup Life ~ Family, Fun & Homeschooling

Welcome back to Family, Fun & Homeschooling!

F,F & H finchnwren.com

 

Today, my featured blogger is Lisa from A Rup Life.  Lisa is a fellow reviewer with me for the Schoolhouse Review Crew.  I love her head shot; I always think she looks like such a glamorous homeschool mama!  She has a very interesting homeschool story as well.  Read on to meet Lisa!

Lisa R head shot

Tell us about your blog.  What was the spark of the idea that enabled you to
create your blog?

My blog’s original purpose was to showcase my crafting but as I had more children I had less time to craft so I started sharing more about our little life and changed the name to A Rup Life. Now I share a bit about our homeschooling journey, faith and some product reviews/giveaways.

Do you have a favorite blogging topic that you return to again and again?

I don’t know if it is a favorite, but I share a lot about homeschooling.

Tell us about your family.  How did you and your spouse meet?  And what
would you like to share about your children?

My husband and I have been married for almost 16 years. We met at a local church and married there. We have 3 boys and one on the way!  The one on the way was a complete surprise because I had my tube tied with #3! So it is very exciting. Can’t wait to meet this special little boy, God has for our family!

Lisa Rup family

What made you decide to homeschool?

My big kids were originally in a private Christian school. My husband was laid off and we knew we could not afford tuition so we prayed about the situation and felt like God was calling us to homeschool.  That was 4 years ago and we are still going strong.

What does a day in your homeschool look like?
We are pretty relaxed. We get up around 8-8:30, eat breakfast and do chores. Typically I start my day with blog work while the big kids do their scheduled work. Then later in the morning I do about 20-30 minutes of structured learning with my 4 year old about 3-4 times a week. I don’t look at this as a race because I want the kids to enjoy their school time so they get done when they get done, which is between 2-4 depending on the day.

Lisa Rup bannerDo you have a favorite “date night” you love to do?

Since I’m pregnant I really don’t have much energy for date night anymore. So we’ve been staying in and putting the kids to bed or a camp out in the living room while we go in our room and enjoy a movie and special snacks.

What are some of your favorite mama­-child activities?

I love reading aloud to the kids and taking them on special activities or field trips. Seeing them experience new things has always brought me joy.
Is there anything else you’d like to share?

My life is a crazy fun ride for sure! I’m so thankful for the blessings God has given me with my family and even this little blog project that has grown into a part time job! I’d also like to Thanks Wren for having me on her blog and sharing my story!


 

I’m thrilled to have featured Lisa–and so excited about the new addition to her family!  Be sure to head over to A Rup Life and check out Lisa’s blog!  One of her posts lately that I really enjoyed was her review of the YWAM biography for kids, Abraham Lincoln: A New Birth of FreedomSince I’m always looking for good books for my son to read, I love the YWAM books.  And, Lisa’s review is excellent.

Enjoy!  –Wren

4 thoughts on “Introducing Lisa from A Rup Life ~ Family, Fun & Homeschooling

Leave a Reply

