What is Bountiful Living?

What are the keys to bountiful living?

Bountiful Final Banner

Merriam Webster defines bountiful as:

  • 1:  liberal in bestowing gifts or favors

  • 2 :  given or provided abundantly <a bountiful harvest>

Bountiful also is defined as “lavish, unremitting giving or providing” in the same entry.

So then, what is “bountiful living”?

How do we live in a way that recognizes this lavish giving, provision, abundance?

For me, as a Christian, it starts with first of all understanding where this abundance and provision comes from.  I personally am not the source of abundance and provision in my life.  Instead, I remember God who loves me, the giver of all good things.  James 1:17 says “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.

Every good and perfect gift

So—what constitutes every good and perfect gift in my life?  My salvation and relationship with God.  My dear family.  Our homeschool.  Financial provision.  Dear friends, from near and far.  The Schoolhouse Review Crew.  Good food to eat, and a home to live in.

But it’s not just those basic yet beautiful ways of His gifts to me.  What about moments with family; fabulous field trips; amazing new recipes?  What about an amazing science experiment that illustrates density or chemical reactions?  Or a beautiful story?  A fantastic musical production?

Every good and perfect gift.  Promised in Scripture for us from the God who loves us.

Seeing and being thankful

The last half of 1 Timothy 6:17 is a favorite of mine:  “….God, who richly gives us all we need for our enjoyment.”  How about that?  Apart from our service for Him and to others, apart from the work He’s doing in us, apart from the work we do in our daily lives, He is richly giving us all we need for our enjoyment.

Using my journal to record blessings and provision

Using my journal to record blessings and provision

So what are the keys, then, to bountiful living?  For me, I think first of all that  I need to notice.  What is God doing in me and around me?  What has He given to me and my family today?  Have there been some special and unexpected gifts or provision that have shown up?

Another key for me beyond simply noticing, is acknowledging it and thanking God.  I love how this simple act creates in me a grateful heart, a more thankful attitude.  I also like writing down these things, which not only helps me in the moment but will in future days when I look back and need some encouragement, or some clarity of vision.

thankful heart

My third key is Scripture.  What verses are being highlighted to you as you read the Bible?  Having a list of verses that God has brought to your attention, and looking over them, can encourage your heart and help you to really think about the things that are true…and the blessings being poured out on your life.

Now that sounds like the road to a bountiful life—to me.

Bountiful Living and Schooling @ Home

My dear friend Kemi, from Homemaking Organized, and I would like to invite you to our new series and link up, Bountiful Living and Schooling @ Home.  We want to see, to recognize, to rejoice in the bountiful lives God is providing for us!  In our homes, our relationships, our homeschools, our kitchens….everywhere we see His hand!

So, once every month, we’re going to write about this topic and how it’s being played out in our lives and families.  We’ll share about what bountiful living looks like each month for us, and we’ll also offer you some awesome free printables that you can download and print for your own use.

We’d also love to hear your stories!  So you’ll be able to link up your own posts about your own bountiful lives, provisions, homeschools and homes.

Bountiful printable (corrected)My first Bountiful Printable

For this month, I wanted to share with you some of my current favorite verses (my third key) about God’s provision and His beautiful work in our lives.  Just click on Bountiful Verses Printable, which will take you to a page with PDF copy of some verses that are blessing me!  Just click on the highlighted words in that post.

Here’s how you can link up!

 

//static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js?v=116

 

Be sure to visit Kemi’s post at Homemaking Organized.  She’ll be sharing today about bountiful living, with a wonderful story and printable as well!

Enjoy!  –Wren

2 thoughts on “What is Bountiful Living?

Leave a Reply

