5 Days of Tips for Homeschooling Parents: Joy

Hello again!  Welcome back to our 5 Days of Tips for Homeschooling Parents Blog Hop!

5 Days of Tips for Homeschool ParentsMy tip for today is a bit less tangible than those I’ve talked about earlier. But I believe that it’s still a key idea for me to be aware of.

Joy

All of us who went to church camp probably remember the song which said, “I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy, down in my heart….”  And those of us who are Christians are probably familiar with Nehemiah 8:10, which says “….the joy of the LORD is your strength.”  I do believe that!  But I’ve also noticed that I can also make some choices and do some things that bring me joy in my daily life as well.  And I think that is important for me as the mom of my home, because we all know that mama’s attitude affects everybody else’s attitude!  I can teach every day, and do the other mom things I do (you know—meals, chores, directing the kiddo in his responsibilities, etc….).  But especially if and when times are hard, which they can be in life from time to time, only I can choose to do those things which uplift me and bless my family members.

Bible devotional readingSo what are some of those things?

I do spend time in God’s Word.  I’m currently working on a Bible study of the book of Hebrews, and I do some devotional reading too (I’ve been loving Psalm 46 lately).  And that’s really a baseline for me….it just sets me out each day on the right path.

I’ve also noticed (though I’m no great artist) that sitting down to do art (whether it’s on my own or with my son) really creates a sense of peace.  I find this most in painting with watercolors and drawing with pastels in my little art journal.  I have some awesome art tutorial books (one especially for moms!) but I haven’t had time to sit down with them.  But at some point….

I love gardening as well.  Of course, where I live we’ve still got snow on the ground….but I’m hoping in the next couple of weeks to do some garden planning and seed shopping.  Once it’s planted and the seeds are sprouting, I go outside and gaze at it nearly every day!  It makes me feel so peaceful and thankful.

And friends and family!  I don’t get to spend nearly as much time hanging out with either of them.  But at least I’ve finally taken up texting!

I guess my point is….

that self care is very important for the homeschool mama.  (Or daddy.)  In order to keep ourselves going, we’ve got to keep an eye on our health…our meals and exercise…and making sure there’s time for fun and joy.  At the end of the day, that will enable us to keep our own homeschools bright and healthy!

My fellow Crew bloggers….

have some neat tips today as well.  Hop on over to these 10 of my friends’ blogs, for their homeschooling tips of the day!

Kym @ Homeschool Coffee Break
Latonya @ Joy in the Ordinary
Laura @ Day by Day in Our World
Leah @ As We Walk Along the Road
Lisa @ Farm Fresh Adventures
Lori @ At Home: where life happens
Meg @ Adventures with Jude
Megan @ My Full Heart
Melanie (Wren) @ finchnwren
Melissa @ Mom’s Plans

And check out the Schoolhouse Review Crew blog as well!

Enjoy!  –Wren

Leave a Reply

