Trim Healthy Mama Plan – A Review

Have you seen the Trim Healthy Mama Plan?

Spring 2016 249

Not too long ago, I noticed that many of my online friends were using the Trim Healthy Mama plan.  And they seemed to be really excited about it.  However, although I was both curious and looking around for a healthy way to lose some weight, I wasn’t really ready to cut out every single tasty food that I currently enjoyed.  So, when I had the opportunity to review the Trim Healthy Mama Cookbook, I jumped on it.

I discovered that not only did I really like the recipes in Trim Healthy Mama Cookbook, they were simple to prepare and my whole family liked them.  I truly enjoyed every recipe that I made (except one) which is pretty impressive for a cookbook!  Once we’d eaten several weeks’ worth of the THM meals, I decided that I needed to take the plunge and actually get the Trim Healthy Mama Plan book.

What does the THM plan entail?

The focus of the THM plan, besides eating healthily, is food combinations.  You combine different types of foods in different ways so that your body burns the fuel (calories) more efficiently.  You still get to eat probably everything you love—but you might eat it differently.  The THM plan has designed these combinations to fit the following meal plans or types:

  • The Satisfying Meal (S) – contains proteins/fats/nonstarchy veggies, but is low on carbs
  • The Energizing Meal (E) – contains lean protein/carbs/nonstarchy veg but minimal fats
  • Fuel Pulls (FP) – 3-4 oz protein, minimal fat, generous nonstarchy veg, berries, lean dairy
  • Crossovers (XO) – merge E carbs, protein, and S fats
  • and S Helpers (SH) – adds a little more carb

Combining foods in these ways—and varying the types of meals you eat–helps your body burn the calories you take in.  Rather than your taking in calories and not burning them….then they sit around….and stay!

A page from the Trim Healthy Mama Plan table of contents

A page from the Trim Healthy Mama Plan table of contents

What’s in the Trim Healthy Mama Plan book?

In this very helpful book, you’ll find complete descriptions and explanations of how to plan each type of meal listed above; S, E, FP, XO, SH.  The authors explain everything—and the whys and wherefores behind the meal types.  Then, they give you instructions on how to build each type of meal, along with lists of the foods that fit together to form the types.  They help you to know how to get started on THM, how to snack (yes, you can even snack!  They tell you how!), delicious drinks you can make to replace your not-so-healthy drinks, and how to tweak the THM plan for families.

There’s a section with meal plans for all the types, to get you used to this new type of meal planning and cooking, with special tips for working mamas, purists, pregnant mamas, vegetarians, and other special types of folks who might want to do THM.  Last, the authors discuss healthy exercise, skin, and staying balanced.

Why I am enjoying this so much

The authors and originators of THM, Pearl Barrett and Serene Allison, are sisters.  They’re also wives and moms who cook for large families.  I love that they’ve tested their recipes on their families, with great success.  It’s not a meal planning system where mom has to eat one teeny tiny meal and the rest of the family eats huge, satisfying meals.  The big difference with THM with what is served to families and what the mom eats is that children do require more healthy fats and carbs along with their proteins and veggies.  However, this is a very easy fix; one can just add some beautiful whole grains to the kids’ meals, or more dairy.

I’m also loving THM because it has so many high-fiber meals.  There are tons of soups with a huge variety of veggies.  Or stir-fries that include broccoli, mushrooms, peppers.  I personally try to eat lots of high-fiber foods, so this fits nicely into my overall meal planning needs.

A huge draw for me is that the THM system is full of grace.  Did you splurge and eat a cheeseburger and onion rings?  No worries!  “You’re just a few hours away from your next healthy meal,” as Pearl and Serene say.  Isn’t that wonderful?  No guilt, no shame.  Just a reminder that your next meal can be a gorgeous healthy one!  I am just not a fan of heaping helpings of condemnation and shame.  This plan actually helps you to WANT to eat well–and then helps you to do it!

Last but not least….

…does it work?  Here are some highlights from my own personal experience.

  1.  I am more energetic.
  2. I am eating small snacks or drinks with protein between meals.   This really helps me to make it throughout the whole day without crashing….or seeking out some huge unhealthy snack because I’m tired and hungry!
  3. I have gone down THREE whole sizes in my jeans!
  4. I haven’t weighed myself (we don’t actually own a scale).  But I do think my clothes fit better.  They’re certainly more comfortable around the waist!  🙂

I’ve loved the Trim Healthy Mama Plan.  I’m still working my way through it (I don’t have nearly as much time for reading as I’d like), and I’m using the Trim Healthy Mama Cookbook faithfully.  (As a matter of fact, I have its recipes Cashew Chicken and Chicken Fajitas prepared in my fridge and freezer respectively, for the next meals I cook!)

Enjoy!  –Wren

**I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Leave a Reply

