Garden Party Linky ~ Garden Prep 2016

Welcome back to Garden Party!  Kemi from Homemaking Organized and I are so glad to be getting ready to garden again, and to hear about your gardening experiences as well!  At the end of this post, you’ll have the opportunity to link up your own gardening posts, so keep an eye out.

Garden Party C

Have you started either your garden planning or your garden prep?  As I write this, it is 37 F outside.  And yes, it is the end of April!  Where we live, it’s time to put peas in the ground, but not too much else.  So we’re really in the planning stages of our 2016 garden.  Here’s what will be going on throughout the next month.

Preparing the ground

I’m hoping to pick up a soil testing kit in the next week or so.  While we’ve been adding organic materials to our raised garden beds, I know that the plants have also been taking those nutrients out of the soil.  By testing the dirt in the beds, I’ll be able to determine what kinds of organic fertilizer I need to add.  (Note to self: do this over the next week!)

Plan the garden beds

Next, I need to decide what is going to go where!  We have a 5′ x 5′ raised bed plus two 2′ x 2′ smaller raised beds.  I plan to use The Postage Stamp Vegetable Garden book again this year.  It is a great book for tiny garden areas, where you need to maximize limited space for maximum output.  Last year I didn’t have as much success with some veggies, like cucumbers.  My garden barely produced any!  And I do love them for salads.

Spring 2016 323Anyway, here’s a list of the seeds we have to plant:

  • Zucchini
  • Crookneck (yellow) squash
  • Mini carrots
  • Sweet peas
  • Sugar daddy peas
  • Radishes
  • Cucumber

Last year for the first time in several years, I didn’t start tomatoes from seed.  Instead, my mom and I got potted tomatoes (large and small, of a variety of toms) from a local garden center.  We’re doing the same thing again this year.

My garlic scapes

My garlic scapes

What’s happening now

We have a pretty short growing season here.  So I won’t be able to get most of our seeds/plants in the ground until after May 20 or so.  (Just like Mitford!)  But, I can get the peas at least in the ground.  I still need to pick up a packet of sugar snap peas.  We really, really love sugar snaps!

I also did some fall planting of sprouted garlic cloves.  They’re in the photo above….then this is what I woke up to this morning!

Oops, it snowed!

Oops, it snowed!

But they’re tough.  And, they’ve been snowed on before, all throughout the winter.

They seem nice and healthy.  And talk about easy-peasy!  You just put them in the ground, water them, and forget all about them til spring.  When the scapes turn yellow and begin to wither, I’ll be able to dig up the garlic heads.  (And then they’ll need to dry for awhile…but that’s another post!)

Spring 2016 326To my surprise, when I looked out the back door yesterday I had one row of peonies that were already 3′ tall!  And they are forming buds as well.  Last year we had a terrifically horrible hailstorm that did in half of our peonies (I have them planted in an L-shape along our fences).  I’m hoping they’ll survive the crazy spring weather this year!

What are you planning for your garden?

Kemi from Homemaking Organized and I will be posting this Garden Party Linky each month from now until the early fall, so we can share all our gardening adventures with you.  And, we’d love to hear about your gardening fun!  So link up your posts so we can visit you—anything about gardening!

//static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js?v=116

And be sure to visit Kemi’s opening Garden Party post at Homemaking Organized, Welcome to the First Gardening Link-Up for 2016!

Enjoy!  –Wren

 

 

Leave a Reply

