Hope Unfolding ~ A Great New Encouraging Read from Becky Thompson

I have to admit that I chose this book in part because of its beautiful cover:

Hope Unfolding image

I have to admit, my life is not organized around beauty, or beautiful things.  (We tend more to the practical, usable, and so on.)  But every now and then, I crave beauty.  I want to see and smell fresh flowers, or look at beautiful art, or take pictures of an incredible sunset.  So when I saw Hope Unfolding for the first time, I was in one of those places where my heart and my spirit were calling out for beauty.

But Hope Unfolding is much, much more than just a beautiful cover.  It is filled with joy, encouragement, truth and hope for mamas who need someone to speak those things into their lives.  And this book met those needs for me wonderfully.

Author Becky Thompson, of the blog Scissortail Silk (now BeckyThompson.com), is a mother herself.  And she knows all about how moms need to hear from God about their value, their meaning, and His love for them.  And the fact that He is happy about them and what they are doing!

In this encouraging read, Becky talks about:

  • how God has not forgotten about you
  • how His plans for you are perfect—whether you can see the way they’re working out or not
  • how He can, and desires to, be the strength that you need
  • how you don’t have to compare yourself to that “perfect” mom you know—that you can have grace for yourself
  • and so many more thoughts and ideas that will bless a mama

 

Summer 2016 079As I said, I received this lovely book at a time when I really needed some beauty in my life.  We were heading toward the end of a very full (scholastically) semester, I had stacks of projects I hadn’t had a moment to turn my attention toward, I had a lapful of reviews to write…and I was tired.  Really tired.  And don’t get me wrong!  I love my family.  I love what I do, and what we do together.  But it had been a full, and at times, challenging, semester.

So I received Hope Unfolding.  I read a few paragraphs of it most mornings during my quiet time.  And oh, how it blessed me!  It nourished my soul.  It spoke truths over me that I needed to hear.  And it increased my joy and helped me think about the things that are true….not the things my circumstances were telling me.

If you look at the right of the book in my photo above, you can see lots of turquoise blue tabs.  Do you know what those are?  They’re tiny Post-It notes.  Stuck on paragraphs or words that really spoke to my heart.  (There are a lot of those, aren’t there?)  Here are just a couple of my most-loved ones:

  • “What if I reminded you that even the most unspectacular moments are all steps on the path down which God is calling your heart?” (p. 26)
  • “…the Lord taught me what it meant to stop in the middle of my day and listen for how He might be leading me.  This tuned my ears to hear His voice more clearly.” (p. 45)
  • “But the truth is, the sun can only stay hidden for so long before it begins to rise again, and hope can only stay buried for so long before it begins to bloom.”  (p.63)

So many good and perfect words that I needed to hear more than I knew.  (And I didn’t even list half of the most meaningful!)  This lovely, lovely book did just what the title promised; it unfolded hope in me.

And I would say that that is an incredible outcome for the time I spent in it!  Hope Unfolding is going to stay on the bookcase beside my bed, where I can reach for it in the coming months.  I know it will continue to be a joyful, rich resource.

Enjoy!  –Wren

“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”

2 thoughts on “Hope Unfolding ~ A Great New Encouraging Read from Becky Thompson

  1. Pingback: Becky Thompson’s “Love Unending” ~ My Review | finchnwren

  2. Pingback: Enter to win Becky Thompson’s great “Love Unending” ~ ends 1/6/17 | finchnwren

Leave a Reply

