Summer Guest Post ~ Featuring Cassandra from A Glimpse of Normal

This summer, I have the privilege of hosting some of my blogging friends in our Summer Guest Post Series.  Today, I’d like to introduce you to my friend Cassandra from A Glimpse of Normal.  She’s going to share with you a fun craft that she made (because summer is a great time for creativity!), as she helped a bride prepare for her wedding.  Meet Cassandra!

Summer Guest Post banner

 

Recently I was asked to help with a Bridal Shower at our church. This bridal shower was for a girl who just graduated and she has been a part of my mentoring group throughout her time in our youth group. So I felt honored and excited to help with her shower. We divided up the tasks that needed to be done for the shower. I ended up helping by making the cupcakes and some of the decorations. I will tell you that I completely cheated and just used boxed cake mixes to make the cupcakes so I can’t really share that recipe with you. Instead I thought I would share one of the crafts I made for the bridal shower with you. I made circle streamers that were simple, but quick to put together and they can be used for many different events.

 

Cassandra 1Circle Streamers

Supplies Needed:

Fishing line – about 20” per streamer
1 1/2” Paper Circles – I cut mine with my Cricut, but you could easily use a circle punch
Sheets of 12×12 paper in assorted colors and/or patterns (the choice is up to you)
Clear Adhesive Dots
Scissors

Instructions:

1. I picked 20 sheets of 12×12 scrapbooking paper in shades of light blue and green for the brides wedding colors.

2. Using my Cricut (an electronic cutting machine), I cut as many 1 1/2” circles that would fit on each page. My Cricut cutting system makes this easy for me and calculates how many circles fit per page. Then I hit the “Cut” button and it does all the work for me. You can complete this step using a hand punch from the store, but I would recommend cutting your paper in strips first to maximize the space where the punch fits.

Cassandra 2

3. Once the circles are all cut, I cut a length of fishing line about 20” long.

 

Cassandra 3

4. Next I picked which color I wanted to start with (I alternated between green and blue) and picked up 2 circles the same color and pattern.

5. I put an adhesive dot on the backside of one circle and then attached it about 3 inches from the top of the fishing line onto the line but pushing the fishing line down in the adhesive dot.

Cassandra 4

6. Then I placed the matching circle on top of that one and squished them together.

Cassandra 5

7. I repeated this until I had 10 circles on each streamer and then I cut off any excess fishing line. You could definitely make your circle streamers shorter or longer depending on the height of the ceiling you are hanging them from

8. Repeat steps 3-7 until you have the desired number of circle streamers.

Cassandra 6

I used this simple decoration for a bridal shower (I totally forgot to take a picture of the room we used once it was fully decorated), but it could be used for any type of shower or party. The circle streamers added just a little touch of youth and playfulness to the shower which is what we were going for in the overall them of the shower since this was a young couple. I will definitely make them again for birthday parties as my daughter already told me she wanted them for her party. After the bridal shower, I brought these circle streamers home and made a few more to use for our church Vacation Bible School. Our theme for VBS this year is Ocean Commotion and I though these circle streamers would make great “bubbles” to hang in the class my hubby is helping teach. See, they aren’t just for wedding showers!

I also created another craft for this shower that was simple and quick, but I will be sharing that over at my blog A Glimpse of Normal so you will have to go over there and check it out. Drop by sometime and let me know that Wren sent you! I blog about every day life around our house so you get quite a variety of things to read about. Thank you for reading today and I would like to say a HUGE thank you to Wren for letting me be a guest today!

Such a fun craft!  And in some of my favorite colors, too.  🙂  Be sure to visit Cassandra at A Glimpse of Normal.  She’s just a delight!

Enjoy!  –Wren

One thought on “Summer Guest Post ~ Featuring Cassandra from A Glimpse of Normal

Leave a Reply

