Paula’s Choice Clinical 1% Retinol Treatment ~ A BzzAgent Review

 

Recently, I had a lovely opportunity to try a brand new facial serum…as well as receive coupons and extra samples to share with my friends!  BzzAgent and Paula’s Choice generously provided for me a full-size bottle (30 ml./1 fl. oz.) of Paula’s Choice Clinical 1% Retinol Treatment free, in exchange for my honest opinion.  I was able to share my coupons and samples with friends here in town, but at the end of this post I’ll also include a code so that you can get discounted products AND free shipping from Paula’s Choice!

What is Paula’s Choice?

Paula’s Choice is a beauty and skin care company located in Seattle, Washington.  Their company philosophy proclaims that they’re based and manufactured in the United States; that none of their products are tested on animals; that their products are designed to be non-irritating; and that all products are backed with a 100% money-back guarantee.  I love all of those things.  For my own experience, I really appreciate that all Paula’s Choice products have no fragrance, no dyes, and nothing to harm the user’s skin.

Paula’s Choice was founded by skincare expert Paula Begoun.  She is committed to educating women on great skincare and wise choices, and she’s appeared on many television shows to do just that.  The Paula’s Choice website not only sells a huge variety of products for beautiful and healthy skin, but lots of information about beauty care.

What is Paula’s Choice Clinical 1% Retinol Treatment?

Have you ever used a retinol treatment?  This was my first time ever.  All I knew about retinol was the sort-of-similar-sounding Retin-A, which a coworker used (via prescription from her doctor) years ago.  But as far as personal experience….I had none!

Paula’s Choice Clinical 1% Retinol Treatment is a facial serum that can (unlike Retin-A) be purchased over the counter.  It’s made for all skin types, and these are some results that the user can expect:

  • Improved elasticity and firmness in facial skin
  • Reduction of wrinkles and fine lines
  • Help with uneven-appearing skin

The Paula’s Choice retinol treatment is designed to be worked into a person’s skin care routine slowly and gently.  Users are instructed to try the product every other night (or even less) to start out with.  Then, if there are no adverse reactions, to increase use to every other night; and finally, if all goes well, to use it every night.  The company recommends night use rather than day use, and daytime use of a facial sunscreen of 25 SPF or higher.

My experiences with this retinol treatment

Over the past few years, we’ve seemed to have very full and busy days.  During that time, while I was trying to keep on top of things, I just used the skin care products I’d been using for some time.  But recently I noticed that they weren’t quite doing the job they used to do.  My skin seemed to suddenly (at least to me) look duller.  With more fine lines…and some not-so-fine!

So, I was thrilled to receive the Paula’s Choice Clinical 1% Retinol Treatment.  I have to admit that I sort of ignored the use directions.  I used it one night, and had no adverse effects whatsoever.  So then I kept using it every night.  (That is sort of in keeping with my personality.  If one thing is good <whether it’s volunteering, or Dr Pepper, etc.>, then lots of those things must be AMAZING!  I’m working on changing this pattern…. 🙂 )

And really, the retinol treatment WAS amazing.  My skin really began to transform.  Some lines and wrinkles which had really begun to annoy me actually started disappearing.  My skin overall began looking better and brighter.

I LOVED IT!

It was also very easy to apply.  I just dispensed a small amount onto my palm and dabbed it over the problem areas I wanted to see looking better.

I only experienced one problem with the treatment…which I freely admit was my own fault!  We went over to my mom’s to help her repot some vegetable plants into some larger containers.  I had on my hat and my sunglasses, but ended up taking the hat off because it was getting in the way.  I did have some sunscreen on…but it was only 15 SPF and I really should have reapplied it.  We worked outside in the sun for about an hour.

Later that evening, I noticed that the skin on my face felt really sensitive.  I skipped the retinol that night, but my face continued to feel a bit tender.  So I continued to skip it.  (Which I really disliked doing, because I was really pleased with my results!)  I finally decided to call Paula’s Choice for more information and tips on using the product.  Their 800 number has an option for beauty consults (and they also have the option for live chats on their website).  I called and spoke to the most helpful young man.  He recommended that I stop using the retinol treatment for one skin cycle (the time for the epidermis layer to slough off), which can be 30-60 days.  Then, he recommended that I use the serum as directed (meaning start slowly, not the way I did it so quickly) so that my skin could gradually get used to it.  And last but not least, to use a strong sunscreen!

I’ll be doing all these things.  But I am so, so happy with Paula’s Choice Clinical 1% Retinol Treatment!  I love its results, the way it feels, and the overall company philosophy of Paula’s Choice.

 

Now you can get free shipping, and a discount on your own purchases at Paula’s Choice!

Just use the code PRRETINOL16 at Paula’s Choice.  This will provide both free shipping and 20% off your purchase, through July 31, 2016.

And remember, membership at BzzAgent is totally free.  If you like to sample products, provide feedback on them, and share them with your friends, you might love being a BzzAgent!  Just visit BzzAgent to learn more.

Enjoy!  –Wren

**From time to time, finchnwren may receive a free product or service in exchange for our honest opinions expressed in our blog.  We are not required to write a positive or glowing review, nor are we additionally compensated for these reviews.  We share our own opinions, and our family’s opinion, of these products.  We’re disclosing this in accordance with FTC regulations.

Leave a Reply

