Win the newest VeggieTales devotional: “Every Day With God,” for kids!

I have the most wonderful giveaway opportunity for you today!

vt-devotional-banner

If your family is like ours, you’ve loved VeggieTales for years.  Yes, our family literally grew up with Bob, Larry, Mr. Lunt, Archibald Asparagus.  Not to mention Silly Songs, or our many favorite videos from VeggieTales.  We have always loved their hilarious humor (funny to BOTH kids and parents), their faithful adherence to Scripture, and awesome life lessons packed into 30 minutes (or more) of fun.

Now, VeggieTales has published fantastic 365-day devotionals; one specifically tailored to girls, and the other to boys.  Since we are a boy-household, we got to review Every Day With God: 365 Daily Devos for Boys (A VeggieTales Book)It’s a softcover book that’s printed in full color on glossy, smooth paper.  As you’d expect, it contains a year’s worth of short devotionals that are perfect not only for the target age of elementary students, but really for older boys who love VeggieTales as well!  Parents can read the daily devotions to their boys, or allow them to read on their own.

Each devotion starts with a title, like “You’re So Very Special” or “God Will Lead the Way;” whatever describes what the devotion will be about.  Then the Scripture verse for the day is listed along with its address.  Next, a couple of paragraphs are written about that subject straight to the child, asking some questions and talking more in-depth about the lesson.  The devotions close with a “Thought for the Day” and a “Pray Today” section, which helps kids know how they can think about and pray about what they’ve just learned.

So—how did we use this?  We have been using a teen devotional during this school year.  Honestly, it was sort of on the too-edgy side for us.  Somehow, it felt very legalistic as well.  I think my son came away from it most days feeling discouraged rather than encouraged, which is the opposite of what we’d like to see happen in Bible study.  When I am corrected by God, I think that He wants me to turn with joy to the right way He’s edging me toward; not feeling crushed by the weight of sin or what I’ve gotten wrong.  That kind of so-called correction (which is what I would call condemnation) never causes me to want to turn to the right way.  And really?  I can make myself feel that way all on my own, without someone’s well-meaning but heavily written devotional.  No, I’m always looking for devotionals that draw me further on God’s way, not those which weigh me down with all the ways I’m living life wrong.

I’m happy to say that Every Day With God falls into the encouraging, rather than the discouraging, types of devotionals!  Even though my kiddo is just above the age this book is written for, we have thoroughly enjoyed it!  Instead of having to drag himself to push through his devotional reading, he happily and easily picks this one up.  And, I believe, it’s a blessing to him.

Here’s a little taste of what you’ll find in this book.  Your child will read devotions on subjects and verses like:

  • A kind word (Proverbs 15:23)
  • Learning from mistakes (Ecclesiastes 7:20)
  • Worship (Psalm 95:6)
  • Real peace and how to have it (John 14:27)
  • Being friends with God (Romans 8:38-39)

Each page has a vivid cartoon picture of one of the VeggieTales stars, from Bob and Larry, to Junior Asparagus, to LarryBoy, the French Peas, Jimmy and Jerry, and so on.  (That’s in the boys’ book; I imagine that the girls’ book has Petunia Rhubarb, Laura Carrot, and Madame Blueberry!)

If you’re looking for a sweet, on-target devotional book which will lovingly teach God’s Word to your kiddos, this is it!  And FlyBy Promotions has provided one copy of Every Day With God for one blessed winner of my giveaway!  (Winner will get to select the girls’ or boys’ version of Every Day With God.)

Giveaway ends Saturday, October 15, 2016 at 11:59PM.  Enter below in the Giveaway Tools entry form!

 

Enjoy!  –Wren

Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the
Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post. Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway.  If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win.  Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.

21 thoughts on “Win the newest VeggieTales devotional: “Every Day With God,” for kids!

  1. I’m always looking for great ways to incorporate the word of God into my child’s daily life. This book would make it so easy to do that, and it seems like a fun read for kiddos, too!

  2. I’d like to win this for my nephew because it’s never to early to start learning to have a daily devotional. We love the Veggie Tale series and it’s so kid friendly and I know my kids are learning from them.

Leave a Reply

