“31 Verses To Write On Your Heart” by Liz Curtis Higgs ~ A Review

I’ve been working through a lovely book in my Bible devotional time over the last few weeks: Liz Curtis Higgs’ 31 Verses To Write On Your Heart.  What a rich and beautiful way to engage with the Word!

31-verses-higgs-banner

Many of you are probably familiar with Liz Curtis Higgs.  She’s written many fascinating books, both fiction and nonfiction.  She’s also a faithful Bible student, and it’s from her deep study of God’s Word that 31 Verses To Write On Your Heart comes.

Over one thousand women weighed in on this list, sharing with Liz Curtis Higgs their favorite and most important verses in the Bible.  From these favorites, the author has selected 31 and written a little about the verses (in a format that’s ideal to read during devotional times) and even included a prayer at the end of each chapter for the reader to pray.  She has also included tips for memorization of the verses, and left a space where the reader can write the verse down in her most-preferred translation.

 

31-verses-pic-1

 

This book contains both the very familiar and less-known verses that will engage the heart of a woman.  Some of these you’ll know well, and others, perhaps not at all.  But each one can deeply impact the gal who reads and memorizes them.  Here’s a sampling of the 31 Liz Curtis Higgs focuses on:

  • Jeremiah 29:11
  • 2 Timothy 1:7
  • Isaiah 41:10
  • Proverbs 15:1
  • Philippians 4:8
  • and more!

 

 

31-verses-pic-3

How I used this book

I am between Bible studies at the moment, but still wanted something meaningful to add to my Bible reading times each morning.  I was thrilled to find 31 Verses To Write On Your Heart.  I admit, it has been awhile (since a previous year, when my son and I memorized verses together) since I’ve worked on Scripture memorization.  And I have found the verses so rich, and so appreciated the author’s words on each verse.  Even though the chapters themselves on each verse aren’t that long, I lingered over them, reading them over a series of days.  Next, I visited biblegateway.com or biblehub.com, where I could enter a verse address and be able to look at many translations at one time.  Then, I picked the one that was most impactful to me, and wrote it in my book.  (Booklovers, breathe a sigh of relief…you’re actually SUPPOSED to do that!)

31-verses-pic-4How I’d describe 31 Verses To Write On Your Heart

Meaningful.  Encouraging.  Beautiful.  A way to really slow down and engage with the Word.  Something that really benefited me as not only a wife and a mother, but as a daughter of the living God.  A way to spend time with Scripture that will strengthen, encourage, and bless women.

I happily recommend this book to any woman who desires to interact with Scripture deeply and beautifully.  Liz Curtis Higgs brings Scripture to life in a manner that will help women to pause and breathe in God’s goodness and care for them.  It’s sweet and wonderful, and will bless the reader!

Enjoy!  –Wren

Disclaimer:  I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.
From time to time, finchnwren may receive a free product or service in exchange for our honest opinions expressed in our blog. We are not required to write a positive or glowing review, nor are we additionally compensated for these reviews. We share our own opinions, and our family’s opinion, of these products. We’re disclosing this in accordance with FTC regulations.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

