5 Things You Didn’t Know About…Lori from “At Home: where life happens”

Welcome back to our 5 Things You Didn’t Know About… series; today, featuring Lori from At Home: where life happens!

 

 

In 5 Things You Didn’t Know About…, I’ll be introducing you to some of my favorite friends from the blogging world.  Each of them will tell you a little about themselves, how they recharge, what they’re reading and doing this summer.  Just lots of fun in bite-sized quantities!

 

And now….meet Lori!

 

 

view from the NM deck

1 – Favorite Summer Activity:

Oh, by far, my favorite summer activity is leaving the heat of Texas and visiting my parents in my hometown in the mountains of New Mexico. We sit in the cool mountain air, drinking tea, talking, enjoying rain showers (sometimes), reading, visiting, and just enjoying the time. It is always encouraging, uplifting, and joyful to just sit on the deck and look at the lovely mountains in the distance while chatting with my mom and dad.

2 – Best Book I’ve Read This Summer

The best book is always the one I just finished. 🙂
Right now, I am working on a book titled Eighty Days: Nellie Bly and Elizabeth Bisland’s History-Making Race Around the World. It is an historical account by Matthew Goodman about the race of these two women, in 1889, around the world, trying to make it in under 80 days. One went east; one went west. And they tried to complete the trip as quickly as possible. I am really enjoying it, as there is a lot of history involved in the story. I won’t say it is an easy read, as I have been working on it for a couple of weeks now, but it definitely an enjoyable read.

3 – How do I renew my spirit/recharge my batteries?

Well, I pray before I get out of bed each morning. I pray for friends in desperate need of God’s healing, for those who have lost loved ones recently, for us to have a joyful day, and for me to see how to guide my children. I also try to spent time daily in God’s word, in the Bible, before I do anything else. I grab my hot tea and sit down with my reading plan and spend 30 minutes or so reading.
As for big recharges, see number 1. 🙂 New Mexico trips always do a nice job of recharging my determination and energy.

4 – Something God has taught me lately or a favorite quote:

My life here is just a wisp of breath that will disappear quicker than I can imagine. We have had a lot of deaths in our congregation and, recently, some deaths in my family and people I grew up with. All of these remind me that God did not put us here permanently but as sojourners in this world. To speak of Him – His love, His forgiveness, but moreso His judgment – to others, no matter how much courage it may take, is something I need to do more of. Which leads me to a favorite quote.

I first hear the quote in The Princess Diaries but it comes from Franklin D. Roosevelt:

Courage quote
5 – This year, I’m looking forward to. . .

  • Growing in my knowledge of the Lord
  • Learning alongside my children
  • Spending time in joyful activities with my family

Nothing big just the day-to-day life of living in joy for the Lord.

Lori of At Home where life happensThank you for allowing me to share a few thoughts with you today. I blog over on At Home: where life happens about my family’s life. You might find a post of encouragement; home education related ideas, tips, and reviews; or just random thoughts shared. At Home for me is in central Texas with my husband of 22 years and my three giggly girls, ages 13, 11, and 8. I would love for you to visit and see what you can see. If you like it, please consider following my blog. It always brings a smile to my face when I get that notification that someone has signed up to share our journey. Regardless, thank you for reading through today’s thoughts.

At Home: where life happens

At Home.

Lori, thank you so for your inspirational words!  And yes, please do hop over and visit Lori at At Home: where life happens.

Enjoy!  –Wren

3 thoughts on “5 Things You Didn’t Know About…Lori from “At Home: where life happens”

Leave a Reply

