5 Things You Didn’t Know About…Carol from “Home Sweet Life”

Welcome back to our 5 Things You Didn’t Know About… series; today, featuring Carol from Home Sweet Life!

 

 

In 5 Things You Didn’t Know About…, I’ll be introducing you to some of my favorite friends from the blogging world.  Each of them will tell you a little about themselves, how they recharge, what they’re reading and doing this summer.  Just lots of fun in bite-sized quantities!

Now…meet Carol

1. Favorite Summer Activity?

Anything outdoors, especially outdoor concerts, catching fireflies with our girls, and watching fireworks

2. Best book you’ve read this summer?

Melanie Dickerson’s: Fairest Beauty, other top picks include Robin Lee Hatcher or Sarah E. Ladd

I plan to read In His Steps by Charles M. Sheldon once again later this summer. It always grounds me, and reminds me that God has a specific plan for me to follow Him for my life.

3.How do I renew my spirit/recharge my batteries?

I spend time in God’s Word, in prayer, and hand-lettering some Scripture verses. I also like to spend time out on my porch swing, usually with a good book!

My flowerbeds and gardens offer me a chance to learn from God about His creation while working out any frustrations I have on the weeds, which spares my family. As a family we do a lot of hiking through the nearby woods.

 

4. What has God taught me lately?

Romans 8:28 is followed by Romans 8:29. The reason we are called is for His purpose to conform us to the image of Christ. My good is not for earthly pleasures, but rather to prepare me for my heavenly future. I have to trust Him to daily guide my steps in the path that follows His will, and I can rest in knowing God has the wisdom, strength, and grace to help me endure each trial or challenge that I face. His good in our lives may look much different from what we think of as good, but it is a part of His plan to fit us for His kingdom, and we need simply to trust that He knows what is for our best. I am daily reminded that this life is not about me – but about Him!

5. What am I looking forward to this year?

Arlene’s Senior year of High School. It is going to be a mix of a lot of hands-on activities and deep discussions. There will be a smattering of basic subjects thrown in as well.

Emily will be starting college. It is a new season in her life as she follows where God is leading her.

I’m looking forward to attending two different writing conferences this fall. One focused on the blog, the other on my other writing. I am hoping later this Fall to start working on an outline for my first book, and seeing where God leads me with it.

I’m looking forward to the unknown of life after homeschooling. Looking forward with anticipation to whatever God has planned for the next season of my life – and the joy of knowing He will be there to lead me by the hand through it all.

 

Bio: Carol and her family call Indiana home. You can find their adventures, road trip ideas, plus a lot of reviews and homeschooling high school tips on their blog: Home Sweet Life

Connect on Pinterest, Google +, and Facebook

Thank you…

dear Carol, for letting me feature, and dear readers, for stopping by!  Be sure to visit Carol at her blog,  Home Sweet Life, or on her social media links above.  She’ll bless you, I know.

Enjoy!  –Wren

2 thoughts on “5 Things You Didn’t Know About…Carol from “Home Sweet Life”

Leave a Reply

