5 Things You Didn’t Know About…Crystal from Castle View Academy

Welcome back to our 5 Things You Didn’t Know About… series; today, featuring Crystal from Castle View Academy!

 

In 5 Things You Didn’t Know About…, I’ll be introducing you to some of my favorite friends from the blogging world.  Each of them will tell you a little about themselves, how they recharge, what they’re reading and doing this summer.  Just lots of fun in bite-sized quantities!

Now…meet Crystal!

Favorite summer activity:

My favourite summer activity (apart from last year’s first camping trip) is our village festival, which takes place over two weeks at the end of July and corresponds with Love Parks Week. There’s a fun raft race on the lough, a fishing competition, guided walking tours to learn about the buildings and architecture, and much more. During this time there’s also a Biodiversity Summer School for 2-3 hours a day outdoors. We love walking out to it, and learning new skills and having some fun. My children have built bird boxes, bird feeders, learned how to make shelters, gone pond dipping, made nature crafts, and foraged for fruit to make tea, which they want to do again! Each year it’s a bit different so there’s always something to look forward to. I’m not much of an outdoors person, but I love to nurture my children’s love of it.

Best book you’ve read this summer:

I don’t read nearly as much as I used to before my children came along and I started work as a virtual assistant. However, our library has a reading challenge each year and my children encourage me to take part in it. I don’t read the 25+ books that they do, but I usually manage about 3. I love to read and I keep purchasing books that are stacking up by the bed…Once a bookworm always a bookworm at heart. I’ve just started reading The Road Headed West: A Cycling Adventure Through North America by Leon McCarron, which I know will be entertaining as I went to a talk by Leon last year about his adventure hiking through Iraq. I will be able, for a little while to read non-fiction, which I love, travel vicariously to a few places I haven’t been, relive memories of places I have visited, and all from our cozy home.

 

Belfast’s Giant’s Ring Dolmen as seen by Castle View Academy homeschool

How do you renew your spirit/recharge your batteries? 

I need to spend more time doing this without feeling guilty or thinking about all the things I need to do! Getting out of the house for a walk by the sea or in the country to let the cobwebs blow out of my head. I love to go places I haven’t been before, even if it’s nearby. As well, I always look forward to Saturday nights as it’s the only night I don’t work from home so Phil and I have dinner and watch movies after the kids are in bed.

A favorite meaningful quote:

It is what it is.” This is a quote my uncle used to say. Things can be bad, but you have to take life as it is and do what you can with it. Some things you cannot change, but you can change your outlook.

This year, you’re looking forward to….

It’s already been a full year for us as my parents flew over to Northern Ireland to visit us from Canada for a month. And my children just passed their grading for white belts in Ju-Jitsu. Of course, our village summer festival and Victorian Fair are still upcoming, as well as a couple of day trips to explore new places with my family.

I’ve also been working hard on organization and finishing things that I’ve started, with the goal of ‘catching up’ and perhaps someday working ahead. I’m currently going through computer files and emails; and in the autumn I’ll work my way through the attic. I always feel more at peace when things are organized. Tell me I’m not too weird to be looking forward to this!

 

 

More about Crystal:

Crystal McClean is a Canadian who is homeschooling her young family in Northern Ireland. Her family loves to learn about culture and they find it fun to do this by reading books, creating activities and recipes as well as attending cultural events when they can. You can learn more about their adventures at Castle View Academy or follow along via Facebook, Twitter, G+, Instagram, and Pinterest.

Enjoy!  –Wren

One thought on “5 Things You Didn’t Know About…Crystal from Castle View Academy

  1. Pingback: 5 Things You Didn’t Know About Me - Castle View Academy

Leave a Reply

